heart’s mirror

“We’ll always be young and unwise together. There is, I suppose, in the eyes of the They, a sort of sweet mad bewilderment and astonishment oblivious to the Nasties and the Meanies; you’re the only person, of course, you’re the only person from here to Aldebaran and back, with whom I’m free entirely; and I think it’s because you are as innocent as me.”

Dylan Thomas, 1936, in a letter to wife Caitlin McNamara

I first came across this passage in the summer of my 21st year; a crazy, semi-promiscuous period of confusion, angst, and, ironically, in the midst of  this flailing, rebellious wantonness, perverse denial (on so many levels). I read this passage of Dylan’s to his bride and it was the beginning of my understanding of true love.

0 Responses to “heart’s mirror”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

