got a rock?

Has it really been a month since my last post? I’msuch a slacker! For real. I’ve been on vacation. In the Adirondacks, my favorite place in the whole world. Oh, I needed it. So much fun. Kayaking. Fishing. Skinny dipping. Naps in a log cabin with a screened in porch. Listening to a lone owl on the hammock at night.  Finally, I found a Great Lakes Reisling to sample (German Reisling still rules, alas.) And, I found a red wine I’d enjoyed back in college, Eye of the Bee, which I’d splurge on when I could afford more than the usual Gallo jug stuff. It’s a light red with a touch of honey. Goes down warm.   Heaven.

My kiddo delighted and tortured her captive audience with repeated screenings of Coraline (Button Eyes!). And kept her poor Auntie Pentyne up until 4:30 A.M. the first night of camp. Hah! Days later, while we sat and soaked up the warmth of a late night campfire, my little imp spied a star and chose it to wish upon. (For a Nintendo DS, no doubt). As the star did not grant her wish promptly for her,  (and likely never will…), she resorted to threats and demands:

“You’d better grant my wish now, do you hear me, Wishing Star? Now!”

“pause”

“I mean it! Now! I want my wish now!….or….I’ll throw a ROCK at you”

:further pause:

“Hear that, Wishing Star? Do you? Do you?”

:pregnant silence:
“Hey…anybody got a rock?”

2 Responses to “got a rock?”


  1. 1 Doktor Holocaust August 24, 2009 at 8:04 am

    i approve of the Kiddo’s attitude towards the wishing star.

    the DS is a nice system, though. Animal Crossing ate my brain for a year or so back when I played one. before that it was Harvest Moon on the gameboy. i’d stay up all night raising virtual chickens and trying to scrape together money for a bigger chicken coop so i could have space for a mayonnaise machine because THEN i could afford a house expansion so the girls would talk to me….

    gaming can be an addiction, yeah.

  2. 2 petitmuse August 25, 2009 at 12:43 am

    I object to portable entertainment on demand, on the grounds that it diverts from the real wonder of the world around you.

    and never, ever curse a star. some part of us returns to them in the end, i believe.


Leave a Reply

