Better than pizza. Better than spaghetti…

For me, Fellini is the finest of all Italian imports (oh, and then, thanks to him, there’s also Marcello Mastroianni). So, I hope Nine is good. The trailer looks fucking awesome. 8 1/2, which Nine is based upon, is my favorite among many Fellini flicks (I think La Strada would come in second). My only quibble with 8.5 is that Federico’s amazing wife, the great, great actress Giulietta Massina (pure poetry in motion), does not appear anywhere.

I love Fellini because  like Pedro Almodovar, Fellini loves women. He acknowledges and delights freely in their power over him, whether as his mother, lover, or wife. I admire the way he depicts conflicting desires and rationales (love/lust, flesh/spirit, innocence/sophistication, art/commerce…) without judgement. I like the way he embraces excess. Even his failures (due largely to excess), have density. Never tire of him.

I think a flick with Daniel Day Lewis and Marion Cotillard has a shot.

6 Responses to “Better than pizza. Better than spaghetti…”


  1. 1 fee June 16, 2009 at 11:52 pm

    i agree, Nine does look good. plus i’d watch anything with daniel day lewis in it…I got the criterion of La Strada for Hanukkah but haven’t watched it yet. I assume i’ll love it b/c i loved Nights of Cabiria. oh and Marion Cotillard is freaking gorgeous…did you see when she played Edith Piaf, (why can’t i remember the name of that movie?!) – she was awesome. awesome. i am so bored at work right now, and wish i could go home right now and watch fellini flicks instead… 😦

  2. 2 petitmuse June 17, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    i just got done watching la vie en rose, with edith piaf. funny, i’ve loved edith piaf all along without quite realizing it. i love the title song, and Non je ne regrette is a favorite.
    (translation)
    No, nothing at all, I regret nothing at all
    Not the good, nor the bad. It is all the same
    No, nothing at all, I have no regrets about anything
    It is paid, wiped away, forgotten
    I am not concerned with the past, with my memories
    I set fire to my pains and pleasures
    I dont need them anymore.
    I have wiped away my loves, and my troubles
    Swept them all away
    I am starting again from zero
    No, nothing at all, I have no regrets
    Because from today, my life, my happiness, everything
    Starts with you!
    ***
    Marion was awesome in that. what a life. so sad about the boxer. i love boxers. well, most of them.

    daniel…well, daniel just gets better looking with age. and is always fabulous. he doesn’t pick just any script, so i’m hopeful about Nine. hey, i was wondering…did you feel like laughing at the very end of There Will Be Blood? I did…at the end, when he said “I’m done now”—it was so dead pan, like something out of a Coehn brothers movie. Wierd. loved it though. love p.t. anderson.

    i think you will love La Strada. Giuletta is soooooo awesome in that. i just love her. she was such an asset to Fellini.

    • 3 fee June 20, 2009 at 1:05 am

      oh yeah, i loved There Will Be Blood! and the end is definitely funny. he is funny throughout it actually. love P.T. Anderson (Boogie Nights still one of my favorite movies)!

  3. 4 petitmuse June 17, 2009 at 7:38 pm

    oh, and if you haven’t seen ginger and fred, you should see it. it’s a smaller piece, but very sweet and timely in the age of information and t.v.

    don’t you just love the ending scene in la dolce vita? when the girl is trying to get marcello’s attention, but he can’t hear her? it makes me cry.

    • 5 fee June 20, 2009 at 1:08 am

      interesting, i never heard of Fred & Ginger. i’ll have to check it out. so many movies i need to see. I need to see La Dolce Vita again. i haven’t seen it in…15 years? god, i love Marcello Mastriani…. ❤

  4. 6 petitmuse June 22, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    absolutely beautiful man. with a beautiful name.


Leave a Reply

