kid stuff

My kiddo is obsessed these days with sports cars. Sports cars. I’m not horrified;  more mystified than anything. Her father once owned a Porsche for a year without his then wife knowing. Isn’t that wierd? Anyway, I think she has maybe a bit of his need for thrills (ok, Mama has some degree of that going on, too). Mama likes motorcycles, not moving boxes on wheels. Mama likes the wind in her face, and the feel of the two wheels careening curves on the road. But Mama’s not telling her that. Yet, anyway. I remember the closing shot in  one of my favorite movies, Orlando (whatever happened to Sally Potter?), with flame haired  Tilda Swinton astride a motorcycle, kiddo  in the side car. And I thought, “That’s it. I want that.” And maybe, sometime, we’ll do that.

The kiddo has a favorite pair of pants. They are black sweat pants that she insists on wearing exclusively. It’s apparently a comfort thing. She likes the elastic legs. Because, the bottoms of one’s pants are not to touch the ground (even Mama’s, though Mama likes hers that way. Mama, she counseled, needs to get a belt. Because leg bottoms are not to touch earth. Right.). Shoelaces are not to touch earth, either. They are to be tripled tied, or more, because she can’t have that. Anyway, she likes the black pants so much, that she hides them from me, lest I, gasp(!), wash them. For only the third time this year, I’d managed to get her into a dress last week. With the pants underneath.

The teen years frighten me a little bit on the rare occasion that I think of them. Fast cars. Willfulness. Yikes! But I fully expect that, like her Mama and her Aunty, she’ll do an about face and completely girl out, and embrace all feminine accouterments, and we’ll someday have a good laugh about those pants. I can wait. For now.

3 Responses to “kid stuff”


  1. 1 fee June 13, 2009 at 12:19 am

    that is really funny about the sweatpants! i love her!
    i remember Orlando…i went to see that with my mom in the theater ages ago…what DID happen to the director..good question. You and Em in a sidecar = definitely see that happening. i couldn’t picture it any other way. 🙂

  2. 2 Bets June 14, 2009 at 7:54 am

    C- I’d like to get Abs into a pair of pants one of these days! Although her first, cold, mid-western winter did have her wearing cords under her dresses, with tights on under those… I hope her thin southern blood thickens up a bit. It can be in the mid to upper 60’s and the child shivers and declares she’s **freezing**.
    Wussy.

  3. 3 petitmuse June 15, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    fee: she cracks me up. alot. there is method to the madness behind everything. sometimes it takes me some time to figure it out, but it’s all good.

    Bets: i think it would be funny to see these two together. see what rubs off on the other. it’s been pretty cold on and off here lately. hmmph. i can hardly blame the kiddo for her distaste for dresses…mama doesn’t much wear them, either, though she agrees that they’re so comfortable when she does. i’m a shorts and tee kind of girl.


Leave a Reply

