gonna go fishing

I’ve decided to get the kiddo a fishing pole as an end of the school year present. Seems cruel to just let her play at it with her cute but woefully inadequate homemade job. If she’s willing to dig worms, I’m taking her. I’ve already consulted with Uncle Will regarding  kid friendly gear. Though I forgot to ask about what to do when and if she actually catches anything. Do fish bite? I guess that’s a silly question…assuming that, if they’ll bite a skinny wad of worm, surely they’ll go for a nice, pink, juicy finger. Gulp.

I see this as a healthy pursuit though. And what a time eater. In nice, fresh air. I like this. I’ve come to have creeping—though not doubtful—thoughts about this, however. Aside from having to actually somehow get this thing off  of the line, then I’ll have to find something to gut the thing with. Not a job for the kiddo, though I’m absolutely sure she’ll be a very enthusiastic audience. Blood and Guts! Decapitation! Yahoo! I suppose I’ll have to break down and get a grill, too—surely she’ll want to eat this thing, what with her hunting obsession and all. That thing is not stepping into my kitchen. So then I’ll have to learn how to actually start a charcoal fire. Thank heavens for google, right? I’ll try not to fret about bones. I’ll sit at dinner and be the proud mother I’ll be when she hooks one. Because I will be. But, like baiting hooks and digging for worms, she’ll be on her own when it comes to consuming the big catch. Sorry, babe.

6 Responses to “gonna go fishing”


  1. 1 fee May 23, 2009 at 3:46 am

    ewww, why is em so gross?!@@ haha. seriously though, ARTS AND CRAFTS kiddo! did I ever tell you that when i was in the Brownies my mom and my friend Stacey’s mom were the Brownie Troop leaders? So therefore we NEVER went camping. Ever. Did a lot of ‘inside activities’ like arts & crafts and a few small daytrips to farms, etc. But absolutely no camping. That’s what you get when you have jewish brownie troop leaders! Ha!

  2. 2 petitmuse May 26, 2009 at 7:34 pm

    ha! emm loves the gross. the grosser, the better! seriously, i’m considering packing a pair of rubber gloves for the for real fishing trip. do you think she’ll be embarrassed?

    this weekend, she was obsessed with caterpillars and inchworms. she found a big, black spiky caterpillar in her tree root and bush “house” (complete with canapied bed), and took it inside. i had to tell her it was dead. then, she found a big leaf, and wrapped it inside and taped it up. it’s sitting by my parakeet’s cage. have you ever noticed, btw, that caterpillars start out so ugly, and emerge into beautiful moths and butterflies? i do now. my friend bonnie just happened to have a nice book on them for reference.

    we plan on doing as many arts and crafts as we can this summer. in addition to swim lessons and gymnastics. need some jumping around activities. did judy ever tell you that she hoped you had a kid just like you? roz did. except i don’t have a kid just like me. i have a mini-roz. hyper. gotta go, go, GO. all the time. poetic.

    • 3 fee May 27, 2009 at 4:23 am

      hehe no judy never told me that. to tell you the truth, i was a good kid!!! they don’t know how good they had it honestly. and caterpillars, that’s funny. i saw a few taking a walk around my work just last week and was talking about how those gross things turn into butterflies…crazy. i always liked inch worms better – so cute and inchy! 🙂

  3. 4 petitmuse May 27, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    emm adores inchworms and will let them perch on her finger any chance she gets. i have this feeling you were a sweetheart as a kid. i never met your sister that i can remember, but you two sound soooooo different.

    • 5 fee May 29, 2009 at 2:37 am

      you might not remember, but she came to visit with her fiance turned husband once or twice. i think we went out to dinner or something…probably to the chat-n-chew. hehe

  4. 6 petitmuse May 29, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    that was definitely the go to place for entertaining. sweet potato fries. yummy.


Leave a Reply

