heh

So amused that Mine That Bird won the Derby. Though I hadn’t money on him.

The kiddo and I frequent two librarys. The one in the town in which she attends school, and the one where we live. After our weekly fried dumpling and lo mein takeout (she’s going to turn into a dumpling, she really is), the kiddo decided we should go to the library—“we haven’t been to this one in awhile”. She was right. And I finally found E.B. White’s One Man’s Meat (mighty fine read, my friend), and Unaccustomed Earth (thanks, Fee). The kiddo found a worm on the sidewalk.

“I want to take him home!”, she declared.

“You can, but I’m not touching it.”

“You know, I collect worms. At school. When it’s raining. And it IS raining!”.

“Great. He can live in the garden.”

But he doesn’t live in the garden. After thorough inspection, the kiddo declared him dead. Then she wanted to cut him up. Gah!  Now he’s drying out in a little French jelly glass. I’ve wondered once in awhile what it would be like to have a boy. I think I know now.

3 Responses to “heh”


  1. 1 fee May 7, 2009 at 12:36 am

    haha she is soooo funny. what’s this EB White book? i hope you like Unaccustomed Earth. I forget if you read Interpreter of Maladies, but that was great too.

  2. 2 petitmuse May 7, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    life is not the same since she arrived. in a very, very good way. so rich.

    e.b. white’s book is a collection of essays that he wrote while at a saltwater farm in maine, in which he raised sheep and chickens. they appeared in the new yorker (i believe it’s that one), and later became the book. just really great slices of life on my dream (back to the land), and his ruminations on modern life. i’m pretty sure it was the inspiration for charlotte’s web.

  3. 3 fee May 7, 2009 at 8:38 pm

    cool, i’ll have to check it out. 🙂


Leave a Reply

