around the pond

Vacation again with the kiddo. She loves to walk with me. So we do. There’s a pond next door that we like to visit, all summer, usually. We’ve seen the Canadian geese of course, and ducks, and later in the fall, heron of all sorts. Yesterday, we saw a beaver. Which would explain the gnawed log sharpened to a perfect point a friend spotted with us a week prior. We were pretty excited to see the beaver swimming around (thought it was a floating log at first). Then, it came to the edge. The kiddo was absolutely hypnotized…I really don’t think she heard me pleading with her to back away. Just in case it was a big rat. But no, I saw the tail. It was indeed, a beaver.

I love spring. It’s my favorite season. I love watching grown men play baseball, or catch. Especially when they know you’re watching. Showoffs. Cute. Actually, I just like watching men exert themselves, in any manner. Except at a construction site. Grossness. And I like going to the auto section and getting good advice on, oh…windshield wipers….without being spoken to in a condescending tone..or worse…ogled…like I was when I was younger.

The kiddo chose a ham for this weekend’s dinner. “Hams are pigs, aren’t they, Mama?”, she asked.

“Yep.”

“So how do they get the ham out of the pig? And bacon, too?”, she went on.

I looked at her mostly solemnly. “They kill them, sweetie. They die.”, said I. Just a little gentle manipulation…a little nudge toward veggie land.

“Oh! I LOVE pigs. Bacon! Ham! And sausage! MMMMMM!”, she squealed.

Sigh. I have never cooked a ham in my life. Yikes!

7 Responses to “around the pond”


  1. 1 bets April 6, 2009 at 8:29 pm

    Most of them are already cooked – or cured, I think. Pour coke all over it and sprinkle it with brown sugar. Can’t go wrong.

    miss you.

  2. 2 Doktor Holocaust April 7, 2009 at 6:58 am

    many hams are indeed already cured, safe to eat fresh outta the wrap if a bit cold and bland. like hot dogs.

    see, if i had been asked how the hams and bacon are extracted Wilbur, Babe, Porky, and other delicious pop cultural icons, I would have used it as a chance to mess with the kid’s head. I would said “lasers!” “they send in specially trained termites to carve and remove the meat without breaking the pig’s skin” or “teleporters – you know when the lights flicker sometimes even when there’s no thunderstorm? that’s when they’re extracting the bacon.”

    of course, i might get taken to task for filling my child’s head with whimsical nonsense, but i even have an excuse for that “I’ll clue them in to the truth after they stop believing in santa.”

  3. 3 petitmuse April 7, 2009 at 11:37 pm

    i don’t care for pork much at all. but i have to admit that i do love a bloody rare steak. most occasionally. i still try to stay on the side of veggies, mostly. steak is really yummy. it’s so unfortunate that it comes from an animal.

  4. 4 petitmuse April 7, 2009 at 11:40 pm

    bets: miss you too. i think this one is pre-cooked, come to think of it. i don’t think i could do it otherwise. i’d fret about it being to salty. coke is a good idea. have to run out for some, can you believe it? i’m off of the stuff again. feels good. very even. no sugar cravings.

  5. 5 Doktor Holocaust April 8, 2009 at 7:50 am

    it is very fortunate that steak comes from cows. it is the delicious savory internal cow-juices that give steak its yumminess.

  6. 6 petitmuse April 9, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    Wish that I could get the same taste experience without killing something.

  7. 7 Doktor Holocaust April 10, 2009 at 7:15 am

    you can’t get a taste experience of any kind without killing something. Veggies are dead plants. every fruit is a baby tree that will never get to grow because you ate it. billions of bacteria are slain in the pasteurizing of milk. everything that is alive eats something, and everything that is eaten was alive.


Leave a Reply

