no cigars

Millet sprays, anyone? I have chicks! Like clockwork, two weeks after eggs first appeared, both sets of finch eggs hatched this weekend. The chicks are tiny, pink, and translucent, sporting huge purple eyelids; resembling embryos with tufts of white down here and there. They are honestly among the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen. I’ve been floating around on air all weekend. Amazing.

8 Responses to “no cigars”


  1. 1 bets November 18, 2008 at 2:53 am

    Pictures, please, if you can manage it! Everyone’s getting along? No pecking orders have been disrupted? Fantastic!

  2. 2 Doktor Holocaust November 18, 2008 at 7:45 am

    what’s a millet spray? and why can’t we have cigars? how about pipes?

    so you have four young naked chicks in your finch habitat and you’re keeping them all to yourself. I do hope they have some means of keeping warm until their feathers grow in.

  3. 3 petitmuse November 18, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    Bets: I have the world’s crappiest camera and it’s difficult getting good pictures with the white cage and a darkened empty orange juice carton, but I’ll try. It’s been interesting with the arrival. Out of seven eggs, there seems to be four newborns, at a pair apiece. Now, Stella and Miles seem to be rejecting one little guy, who looks completely normal and moves every time I do see him. Yesterday, I found him on the floor. I put him back. Then they moved him to the front of the carton. Again, I interceded, and placed it with its sib. This morning, I see the little thing is covered, but who knows what will happen during the day, unattended. I shouldn’t even be interceding. They probably have their reasons. But I have a gimpy little parakeet with splayed feet who’s robust and chockful of action, spirit, and personality, and it takes everything I have inside of me not to check on it every two minutes and make my case to those two silly birds.

    I’ve also had to remove all but the two families from the cage for the sake of the parent’s nerves. Not fun. And now I have to figure out cage dynamics for three cages until I build the aviary, which won’t be until spring. We’ve had pecking order problems with certain bullies picking on my darling, tiny Edie, a Stella lookalike who’s the sweetest, friendliest, tiniest little bird. I don’t know why they pick on her, except for her size. But one day, I found a big chunk of feathers missing from her back and had to seperate her, which is sad. She will probably go in with the fledglings. I’ve also had to separate two spice finches and a society finch from the zebras, who are just too much for these gentle spirits. They are munias, and very, very quiet and gentle little finches. Hardly make a sound. All they like to do is huddle together and cuddle. Next to them, the zebra finches are like roosters!

    Ok, this is all quite long, but it’s all very fascinating….or something…to me. I love it.

  4. 4 petitmuse November 18, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    dok:
    I suppose a cigar would be ok. Though they remind me of my borgeuois ex. Blech. Pipes…yeah, sure. I’m sure millet must be good for you though! I call it crack for birds…they can’t get enough of it!

    I keep a light on them 24/7 now, and their nests are packed full of wool and tissue paper. Zebras live to build nests and breed. Both parents sit on them. I’m really impressed with the male’s participation throughout the process. Miles sits more than Stella, actually.

  5. 5 bets November 19, 2008 at 12:44 am

    millet for us! trader joe’s has a yummy, nutty wild rice & grain blend that looks more like bird-seed than rice. it’s one of my favorites, especially when I make it with stock instead of water.
    do you have a TJ’s near you? Oh I do hope so, if not I’ll mail you a bag 🙂
    I love your bird society news… don’t feel like you have to edit yourself on my behalf. I have even found myself watching my backyard birds with more intention recently. The tufted titmouse is my favorite.

  6. 6 Doktor Holocaust November 19, 2008 at 9:30 am

    i saw Millet Jelly on Iron Chef the other night. it was like honey only completely clear. I could do with millet jelly.

  7. 7 petitmuse November 19, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    Yes, I do have a TJ’s. I wish they sold the two buck chuck wine though. I’ve heard good things about it.

    We watch birds alot more now, too. And I always look forward to the hummingbirds in the spring. They are darling!

  8. 8 petitmuse November 19, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    Millet jelly. It sounds…interesting. And now I’ll have to look for it.


Leave a Reply

