thoughts and notes

–The hosts of the local radio show this morning invited callers to describe, using one word, how they were feeling this morning with regard to the election results. Depressed. (cautiously) Optimistic. Relieved. Hopeful. Deflated. I feel….inspired.

–The kiddo spotted turkeys on the morning ride today. Her reaction: “We have to catch them and eat them!” Gas is my second biggest expense with this commute to school, but the quality time we have together on our commutes is priceless.

–Not to be outdone by my finch Prudence, little Stella is expecting. Her eggs are different, not ivory white like Prudence’s, but more of a faint grey-greeny color. I suspect its all the spinach she scarfs down. She’s kookoo for spinach. I’m thrilled for Miles, and for Stella. I should have just named her Queenie. Every time I look at her, I see an imaginary crown atop her little head.

–Yesterday, when I arrived to pick up the kiddo, she was deeply engrossed by some magnetic building toy. She apparently didn’t want to leave and told the teacher’s aide that I wasn’t her mother (!). Crafty.

2 Responses to “thoughts and notes”


  1. 1 Doktor Holocaust November 6, 2008 at 6:47 am

    magnets are deeply engrossing. There’s a fun toy called The Neocube, available online, that is basically a giant ball of little neodymium magnets that can be arranged however one likes. I bought two – one for the cubicle, one for the coffee table, and it has brought me no end of delight.

  2. 2 petitmuse November 6, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    hmmm…I’ll have to look at those. These are panes of colored clear plastic with magnets on the ends that one uses to build things with. I’m talking to Santa about those.


Leave a Reply

