talking chicken

Yesterday, as I was preparing the kiddo’s favorite dinner, roast chicken, I was greeted by sudden protest as I was about to put he bird into the oven. “STO—OP! You’re killing him! I won’t eat it!”. I paused, wondering: “Is this a sign of a future vegetarian on my hands??? Yes!!!”

Then, she PICKED IT UP. Like a baby. Comforted it in gentle tones. “O.k., you can put birdie into the oven now.”

During the roasting and right into dinner, she kept up a onesided conversation with the poor bird, even while she was eating it.

I don’t know what to think.

2 Responses to “talking chicken”


  1. 1 Doktor Holocaust October 28, 2008 at 6:29 am

    I think you have a very perceptive kiddo who understands the notion that the food on her plate was once a living plant or animal. I think you have a future well-informed shopper on your hands, someone who will be very choosy about what she eats and where it comes from, and have good reasons for her choices.

    or it could be that she has picked up on the idea of honoring the living beings that are on the menu before eating them, which appears in many cultures in some form or another.

  2. 2 petitmuse October 28, 2008 at 11:10 pm

    she just blows me away sometimes. never a dull moment. ever.


Leave a Reply

