october

First of all, let me just say that I really did believe Paul Newman would live forever. May he rest in peace. Wonderful, wonderful man.

Also, the drama here is the news that, after some confusion and panic, followed by a consult with her ped, the kiddo has poison ivy. I’m a bit at a loss. I have no idea where this stuff is! I’m so busy these days that wracking my brain and scanning all of our activities and locations is not too much too ask, but nonetheless, a challenge. I thought perhaps it was a reservoir where we like to stop by on our way from home. So quiet there. We live in what is called a small city, but what I regard as a large town. We see people all of the time, which is fine…the kiddo likes the little people of her own size in particular. But we have nowhere to go that is relatively quiet and unpopulated. And, since the beginning of school, the high school band has taken to practicing practically right outside our doorstep until 9:30 P.M. So our communing in this quiet respite of a spot has been a godsend. I don’t think the stuff is there, however, because the rash has spread from its original spot (her face) down to her legs, a good five days later. So I’m thinking it’s back to the drawing board, Sherlock. It looks worst than it is; she’s only just begun scratching at it. It’s a surprise, but not a surprise…her Babci gets a rash just looking at poison ivy. I’ve never had it.

My zoo is well. Clinca the parakeet is charming me everyday. I had no idea ‘keets were so smart! I love making toys for him/her. Still not sure which sex this one is yet.

I am missing the kiddo a lot these days, but she loves the school and has become a much more outgoing social butterfly…my house usually has a crowd around. We found a dead lizard-sort on the driveway at school today. She notices everything!

This month is Domestic Violence Awareness month. I’ll probably do a few postings relating to my own experience here and there. It was just under a year ago this week that the kiddo and I entered a shelter to begin a new life of our own. I’d wanted to wait at least a year in order to process that before sharing anything in detail. So, nothing gory, but I think knowledge is power, and I’d like to share what I do know from experience if I can here. 

Ciao, peeps!

2 Responses to “october”


  1. 1 Doktor Holocaust October 4, 2008 at 7:25 am

    i may do an Awareness Month posting myself, i fi can figure out how to approach the issue in my usually-whimsical blog. getting away from the violent ex in my life is one of the things I’m proud of myself for, right up there with getting a degree and quitting smoking. It’s something that took a lot of time and work to properly accomplish, and the end result is an accomplishment that can never be undone.

  2. 2 petitmuse October 6, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    It’s a pretty agonizing decision, but well worth it.


Leave a Reply

