Literally…

a book meme:

Total number of books owned:

I have no idea. Truly.

Last book bought:

Flea Market Style, it’s a great book that I can pick up again and again and draw inspiration from. Flea Market is probably closest to what my house is done up in. I love finding things and putting them into context alongside other discoveries.

Last book read: The Botany of Desire: A Plant’s Eye View of the World, Michael Pollan

Five books that mean a lot to you:

  1. The Lines of My Hand, Robert Frank-The Americans is the more popular work and an acknowledged masterpiece, but I like this monoprint better because it’s more lyrical and personal, and full of fleeting moments. The photos have an honesty, and even at times, an innocence.
  2. The Hotel New Hampshire, John Irving-Even for enthusiastic Irving fans, this one’s not everyone’s cup of tea. Often, you either love it or hate it; it’s too bizaare for some. I never recommend it to anyone. But it reminds me, in an inflated, over the top way, of my own family and myself, in spirit, before my father died. Just about every character fits a family member, and the dynamics and history aren’t too far off from my own family, literally or symbollically. Franny is myself before I got all quiet and subdued by my father’s passing.
  3. Signs On the Wind, Lenore Tawney-I often take this one places with me if I anticipate a wait in line. She’s one of my favorite artists; quirky, playful. I never get tired of this one.
  4. The God of Small Things, Arundhati Roy-The ending is not everyone’s cup of tea. But I read this and there it was: my inner life as a child, right down to the lyrical quality, the wistfulness and wonder, the cutting cruelties, the terrors, the word and sound play. Arundhati Roy is the writer I would like to be. I just wish she wrote even one more book. But she’s doing something more meaningful to her as an activist. Good for her.
  5. Written On the Body; Jeanette Winterson-For me this was her best book; not too clever as some of her books can be. It’s a long meditation on departure and loss; poignant, beautiful. It struck a nerve, and it comforted me and spoke my feelings when my sister was dying of cancer. The main character also stuggles with commitment. I related to that.
Leave a Reply

