I haven’t done it either….

stolen from dok h.

1. Never in my life: will I ever cede my independence to another person. My self esteem is dependent upon free will.

2. When I was five: the world was the world, unmanipulated, pure, and magical. Too much has happened since then.

3. High School was:  a blur of caffeine, bad beer, truancy, unmet potential (to the frustration of my teachers), exhaustion, lots and lots of daydreaming, and, thank heavens, an awesome set of friends who were a lot like me. Oh, and there was ART.

4. I will never forget: I still remember my grandfather’s optimimistic belief that if he drank more clam juice, it would help him cure his cancer. I think of that still, every now and again.

5. I once met: This was wierd, especially to those who knew me in um, high school. I was 22 and shopping at my favorite store, The Limited, in downtown Springfield before my voice lesson. I looked up and saw a very skinny, heavily made up Latoya Jackson, with a mannish looking Asian woman hovering close by. Her husband and manager, a very creepy older guy, struck up a conversation with me, which made me feel queasy. Anyhoo, Ms. Latoya started being a total bitch and began copping an attitude toward the poor store clerks, barking orders to remind them that she apparently was important. I arrived late to my voice lesson, told my teacher, a genuine diva about the faux diva, who was not amused or the least bit impressed.

6. There’s this girl I know who:  is from Indiana and hasn’t emailed me in a million years, ahem.

7. Once, at a bar: Hmm, if I can remember the last time I was at a bar. Well, there was the time me, Erooo and Moo convened to celebrate Frank (Sinatra’s) birthday and requested for the tv to be playing Frank movies on some channel. For some reason, I’d mentioned boxing and an old guy nearby couldn’t believe a chick would know so much about it. Whatever.

8. By noon, I’m pretty much finally awake.

9. Last night: I had a strange dream about one of my neighbors. Nothing erotic; just wierd, though I can’t remember all of the details.

10. If I only had: all the time I ever needed. Like, three or four lifetime’s worth to be everything.

11. Next time I go to church:  will likely be at a wedding (kind of unlikely, actually; I’ve trying to avoid weddings these days. Most are so boring.), or at a funeral, which I’d also rather be an unlikely event.

12. What worries me most:   Not living to see the kiddo grow up. For no particular reason, other than that my father and my sister didn’t see their kids grow up.

13. When I turn my head left, I see: books.
14. When I turn my head right, I see: books!
15. You know I’m lying when: I don’t do it often. In the past, it seemed to be when I said the famous last words “nothing will happen”. And something would. Which made a liar out of me.

16. What I miss most about the eighties: I miss the outfits my friend Bonita would wear, every day. She was into punk, dance, urban, and tribal stuff.

I just want to add that I don’t miss the big hair, make up, chunky jewelry, and bad movies. The jury is still out on the music.

17. If I were a character in Shakespeare, I’d be: This is bad, but I’ve always felt this kinship with Ophelia. I mean, just what does that say about me? I’m also very, very fond of Ariel the  wood sprite in The Tempest. The actress that portrayed her at Edith Wharton’s place in the Berkshires stole the show in a cast that included a young, young Keanu Reeves (who was actually good, too, and just of that Excellent Adventure movie).

18. A better name for me would be:  I’ve always felt like a Kate. My actual name….this early sixties, girly-girl name, which makes me think of bouffants and pale liptstick…makes no sense to me. But then, my mother’s name made no sense to her, either. She was named after a movie star, right down to the last name, and hates it. However, this weekend, I realized while reading a newspaper article, that this movie star was originally from my grandfather’s area, which might of shed some light on that selection.

19. I have a hard time understanding:  willful cruelty.

20. If I ever go back to school, I’ll: I’ll play and do what pleases me and not give a thought to grades and having the right answer; all of that.

21. You know I like you if:  I’ve nicknamed you. By a few names, especially. They’ll probably sound silly and be some sort of play on words or sound, and make no sense, except, that I like you.

22. If I ever won an award, the first person I’d thank would be: the kiddo, I think. She changed everything.

23. Take my advice, never:  touch me to wake me up. I’ve accidently decked those that do.

24. My ideal breakfast is:  I’m very fond of cookies for breakfast.

25. A song I love, but do not have is:  Patti Smith’s The Jackson Song

26. If you visit my hometown, I suggest:  watching it around the cops. They hate outsiders and will stop a car for anything.

27. Why won’t people: slow the fuck down? unless it’s an emergency, why? why? why?

28. If you spend the night at my house: you must love animals and kids, cuz I coo all the time over all of nine. Come hungry, so I can feed you. But good luck finding a seat. Everyone takes mine.

29. I’d stop my wedding for:  If I had a wedding, I’d have to be stopped.

30. The world could do without:  the sort of people that populate the town where my daughter goes to school. Elitist, pompous, and ultimately boring. But the school’s worth it.

31. I’d rather lick the belly of a cockroach than: talk to my ex.

32. My favorite blonde is:Moo.

33. Paper clips are more useful than: um, I don’t know….staples?

34. If I do anything well, it’s: find interesting stuff and put it all together in interesting contexts. If I’m ever absolutely sure of one talent I have, it’s that I have an excellent eye for that sort of thing.

35. And by the way:  I’m starving, and it’s a half hour before lunch time. Curiously, I crave sweet peppers, and cheese; grilled.

1 Response to “I haven’t done it either….”


  1. 1 Doktor Holocaust September 10, 2008 at 10:05 am

    i completely agree with your answers for 39 and 27. and i didn’t even remember doing this meme. had you not mentioned stealing it from me, I woulda stolen it from you!

    regarding Willful cruelty is best explained as no longer seeing thinking, feeling beings as fellow thinking, feeling creatures, but instead perceiving them as biomechanical kinetic sculptures to be played with and/or tormented in effigy when you can’t do anything about what’s really upsetting you.


Leave a Reply

