it’s happening already

We were at the pool yesterday. I was watching the kiddo frolic with her little friends and quite suddenly, tears began sprouting from my eyes. For at least ten minutes. Kindergarten. I think myself above emotional displays—-I’d rather do almost anything than cry in front of people— and thank goodness my face was already wet and my sobbing hidden. It surprised me. I saw not a rambunctious, healthy five year old in front of me, but a tiny baby. Mine.

She’ll be finished with Headstart in two weeks, and then on to the school of my present dreams, an Emilia Reggio school that just opened its doors this year. Its teaching philosophy infuses art into every academic discipline, which is an excellent fit for her.

Anyway, the kiddo will be happy to have Mama all to herself for ten days. Rosellabella is alive and well. She talks about her everyday. Sometimes when I’m bored with Rosellabella, I tell the kiddo that she’s on vacation, visiting a friend.

“Who?!?”, she demanded.

“Uh….Lucretia. Her good friend Lucretia.”

“Why?!?”

“Wellllllll…..Lucretia has dogs. Lots of them. Hundreds of them! So, Rosellabella comes over to help her with them.”, said I. That Rosellabella. What a good friend, dontcha think? Of course anyone  with a  friend who  had all those dogs would help out.

Right?

“I want to meet Lucretia.”

:sigh: 

What have I done?????

3 Responses to “it’s happening already”


  1. 1 Doktor Holocaust August 26, 2008 at 6:16 pm

    they grow up too fast, it seems. I remember when my id sister was just that: a kid. she didn’t even reach halfway up the screen door, mispronounced most of her words, and spent her free time singing along to disney videos and strewing naked barbies all over the house.

    now she’s starting her senior year of high school, already has a job and a car.

    apparently, while i was busyw ith high school and college, she was busy growing up. and then I moved out, and she’s had the fun of being an only child for a few years now.

  2. 2 petitmuse August 26, 2008 at 11:11 pm

    sigh. it’s just not fair.

  3. 3 Doktor Holocaust August 29, 2008 at 8:51 am

    if i could give her what was left of my own youthfulness, I would. she spent her adolescence far better than I spent mine, and could make better use of it. I’m ready to be a cranky old man.


Leave a Reply

