a quickie

Still here, peeps. Not much to write about, and so little time to write, anyway. But life just gets better and better and better and better.

Have I told you how much better life gets, lately?

Heh.

I often comment to those I know how random the nature of our moving was, and how random, quite like a raindrop falling out of a sky, was our location. I meet so many interesting people here. And I’m loving it. I don’t even think myself a people person, in particular, so it’s good news when I meet people I’m happy to know.

Speaking of locations, I have been complimented three times this week on how nice my back patio looks. Finally. It took awhile. It takes me a long time to figure out my spaces and what I want to do with them. Add, subtract. Shift-shift-shift. Repeat as neccessary.

Tibet Festival coming up. I can’t believe I was lucky enough to land in a community where there is a strong Buddhist presence. That and a good school were my primary concerns when I contemplated this step way back when. It’s actually only been not even a year since the world changed forever for us, but it seems ancient already. Anyhoo, I hope to get my hands on a camera for some good snaps of this. And someday soon, maybe I’ll share my crazy adventure with the move, since I’ve been otherwise talking about it so much these days with previously mentioned interesting people.

Stay cool. I’m goin’ swimmin.

4 Responses to “a quickie”


  1. 1 Doktor Holocaust July 24, 2008 at 8:08 am

    life has been getting better and better and better out here in my corner of the universe as well. I went to X-day, a sort of festival for kooks and conspiracy theorists and the people who love them, and won an award for my own kookiness, and fraternized with fellow weirdos and was welcomed into their mutant community of non-joiners with open arms.

    I never felt so welcomed anywhere in my life. And then I came back and work is less stressful, and my friends say I seem happier overall but much less coherent. I can now boldly leave my secret lair and go places without fear of running into evil people from my past, and they have completely lost all relevance in my life thanks to all the good people entering it.

    aside from a denser concentration of Buddhists, what is different about living in a community with a strong Buddhist presence?

  2. 2 petitmuse July 29, 2008 at 11:49 pm

    I would define it as a community that has accessible temples/centers for practice and meditation, meditation walks, festivals, and other gatherings. I had hoped to move to one area that had a strong presence, but it was terribly expensive, so I’m glad that I landed here, quite accidently, and have access to this. Didn’t go to the festival though…took the kiddo to a carnival instead. But I have pictures of the kiddo and the fur/feather fam that I will be posting soon!

  3. 3 Doktor Holocaust July 30, 2008 at 5:52 am

    oooh, the kiddo and her zoological army!

    i’d love to live in an area with a strong SubGenius presence, but they tend to be either too far south for me (too hot – in texas), too far north for me (winters are too harsh – in ohio and new york) or just too West Coastal for my liking (San francisco, which is too expensive but also too full of hippies, despite the fact that i have actual friends in that area), so i just gotta hide out here in appalachia until global warming kicks in enough to make Ohio or western New York livable by my standards.

  4. 4 petitmuse July 30, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    it’s nice though, to be one with people like ourselves for even a short time though, isn’t it? good for you!


Leave a Reply

