summer summer summer

The kiddo commences a short (wait…that’ s relative) break from school today until ten days from now. Ten days from now. Together. All of the time. For ten days.

Ten days of “I need a guinea pig. Am I getting a guinea pig today? When? When am I getting a guinea pig? Why???? Why can’t I get a guinea pig? Today! Why? Why? Why?”

This state of total togetherness is her idea of heaven. Check with me later. If I’m still sane and not muttering incoherently in a corner somewhere.

So in a way, this sort of officially starts our summer and I’ve been thinking of what I want to do in that time. Lists are always handy, no?

  1. Read more poetry. Old favorites cummings and Thomas need closer looks. Take a look at some highly regarded recommendations; the Spanish poet Federico Garcia Lorca, and Sor Juana Ines de la Cruz, a nun who wrote amorous poetry. My kind of woman. Find some poems for the kiddo to enjoy. There’s a nice poetry festival here that I’d like to take her to someday. She’s just not allowed not to grow up without an appreciation of poetry.
  2. Swim. Play. Ride roller coasters with the kiddo a time or two or three or four.
  3. Learn more about finches. Because I think there will be eggs at the very least, soon. I owe this to Miles, who is  building yet another nest. What an optimist.
  4. Get out in a canoe with the kiddo. I found a couple of cool spots around here.
  5. More writing beyond blogging.
1 Response to “summer summer summer”


  1. 1 Bets June 13, 2008 at 2:00 am

    Re: #5
    Familiar with Lulu.com? Check it out, if not.
    I see literary greatness in your future.

    Re: #1
    My favorite poet that my mom read to me, James Whitcomb Riley’s poetry for children. Especially Little Orphant Annie and The Raggedy Man. My personal favorite poem is The Mad Farmer’s Liberation Front, by Wendell Berry.
    xxx


Leave a Reply

