sick children

My friend Holly once told me that there is no one more optimistic nor more vulnerable than a goldfish owner. Something like that. Add birds to that. Miles has improved to his former hale and hearty self, but Felix is still ailing. All day, he’s been lying on the floor; a puffy little ball that refuses to eat. He even let me pick him up and hold him. Something’s wrong when a finch doesn’t fight that. Finches disdain handling. Period. I put a heat lamp on him and he seems to have perked up just a bit. I’m still holding my breath. Just give me some chirping, some flight. Something. Animals are so challenging when they’re sick…so much guess work. Yesterday, he’s rallying and scarfing down eggs, and next thing he’s faltering. Ugh.

The kiddo is watching James and the Giant Peach on the couch. Anyone else love that story back in the day? I sure did.

3 Responses to “sick children”


  1. 1 bets June 2, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    Sorry about the birdie – if anyone can nurse him back to himself, you can.

    James was one of my favorite stories- the other one of my fav’s that’s about that reading level was written by Julie Edwards (who is actually Julie Andrews) called The Last of the Really Great Wangdoodles. It’s wonderful read aloud.

  2. 2 petitmuse June 2, 2008 at 9:06 pm

    Well, thanks, sweetie. I’ve put him in a quiet room, added vitamins to his water, got a new new heating bulb. He did fly up to a perch when I tried to catch him last night to check for air sac mites. He’s perching now. Good sign. Every awful thing runs through my mind when I check his symptoms and I get this sick queasy feeling in my stomach when I go to check on him. I know more than I ever thought I would about bird anatomy.

    Probably, he’s stressed. I hope. I have to get used to this sort of thing if I want to save birds.

    The kiddo absolutely loved James and the Giant Peach. She’ll love the book even better. One of my very favorites. I’ll have to check out the other book.

    Let me know how you’re doing! And kiss the sweetie for me!

  3. 3 Holly June 5, 2008 at 6:33 am

    Ooh. Sorry I haven’t been around lately. Ahem: There is no one more helpless than the owner of a sick bird….I mean goldfish. 😉


Leave a Reply

