some kind of meme

stolen from H. Labs, natch

What Was I doing ten years ago? Ten years ago, I was at the tail end of my newspaper job in my hometown in upstate New York, traipsing around, interviewing ordinary people and writing stories, designing tedious little ads when I wasn’t traipsing around, and discovering through the ordinary people, things I kinda liked about my little town. Then, left said job to go to Norway. Because I’d never been to Norway before. Climbed fjords and shivered. Rode ferries, hung out in Sweden among outrageously beautiful people. Loved and fought with a Norwegian. Then, bye-bye. In a huff. Flounced and sobbed on a seven hour flight to boomerang to my usual psychic parking place, a small artsy town in western Mass and settled among too many poseurs while I plotted my next adventure. Discovered that I liked bike riding, which was a good thing, since I decided to take a mundane job while I licked my wounds, making candles for a famous candle company. Twenty mile rides offer lots of therapueatic thinking time.

What are five things on my to-do list today? I have no real plans today, beyond playing with the kiddo, attending to my zoo, and mucking around with my container garden.

Snacks I enjoy: Cashews. Chocolate almond candy bars. Cheese, all sorts of cheese. Hummus and pita bread. These little fried rice balls that I make from Jessica Seinfeld’s Deceptively Delicious book. Cottage cheese with salt and vinegar potato chips. French fries with bleu cheese or queso sauce. Ice cream!

Things I would do if I were a billionaire: Pay of all debts. Build houses in the Adirondacks, Vermont, and Rhode Island. Start a finch aviary and a sanctuary for various domesticated animals. Start my alpaca/lama farm. Visit Japan, Amsterdam, Morocco, Tibet, Scotland/Ireland, and of course, France. Maybe India. Build two houses for my mom. Right next to each other. One for her stuff, and one to live in. Actually, it would probably be a part of “the compound”, Kennedy style, that my brother and sisters imagine. Pray that we don’t kill each other. Fund whatever it is my sibs want to do (kind of curious as to what that would be). Bankroll the kiddo’s Waldorf education, and pray she selects Wesleyan College as the next destination. Get a pilot’s license. Make philanthropy, in innovative ways, my new job. Hire Holly to help me.

Places I have lived: Northern New York, Manhattan, various places in Massachusetts, Norway, and Connecticut.

3 Responses to “some kind of meme”


  1. 1 Doktor Holocaust May 25, 2008 at 2:05 am

    I used to talk about building a compound for my friends and I if I ever got absurdly wealthy. of course, the number of people invited to the compound got smaller every year, and some of those who are still invited probably wouldn’t show up, and it’d just be me and my Doomsday Devices.

  2. 2 Pamela June 3, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    Bonjour petitmuse.

    I love your 10-years-ago description. Are you a fiction writer? You should be! There’s a writers workshop in Paris in July… I went last year. It was amazing.

    You might be interested in http://www.francophilia.com, the social network for francophiles. Stop by and say hi. I’m LaGoulue.

    Pamela

  3. 3 petitmuse June 3, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    Merci beaucoup, Pamela! I’m curious…what kind of writing do you do? I am currently pursuing some freelance newspaper work here and other odd jobs. Not a fiction writer quite yet; poetry is about all I can otherwise squeeze in at the moment. I do intend to get at least one novel out sooner or later. A writer’s workshop in Paris? Must put this down on my to do list.

    Checking out Francophilia, and thanks for the link. Don’t be a stranger!

    Salut, petitmuse


Leave a Reply

