funny odd awesome

The kiddo and I were shopping this morning. I rewarded her for good behavior with a trip to Petco to visit her ferret friends and the turtles. At the close of the visit, she insisted on going into the bird room, which I was resisting because they were being attended to by their caretaker and it was crowded in there. One thing I’ve come to recognize as I’m feeling resistant in a store when the kiddo is insistent upon something, is that there very usually is something to be found, some treasure I overlooked, or something I’d forgotten. So we went into the bird room, anyway. The kiddo likes the conures, which are outrageously expensive. I made a beeline for the finches, of course. The caretaker asked me if I had any, and of course I told her about Miles and Felix. Well, she offered me a society finch for adoption! He/she (hard to tell with society finches) is missing a claw, which will never grow back, but so far, it hasn’t interfered with its perching abilities in any way, and after a weekend of further observation, I can take it home. Fingers crossed. I am sooooo excited. Save the finch!

4 Responses to “funny odd awesome”


  1. 1 Bets May 15, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    My comment has been sent via e-mail.

  2. 2 Doktor Holocaust May 16, 2008 at 6:24 am

    Conures are also wickedly violent. Ma Holocaust is fond of them as guard-parrots. they tend to bond with only one person, and everyone else is prey. my right pinkie never healed right after her conure attacked, and I still cannot straighten it completely to this day.

  3. 3 petitmuse May 16, 2008 at 6:35 am

    They seem to be crabby birds, even in the store. I’m always pulling her back away from the cages. On the other hand, we saw an adorable white cockatoo perched on a customer’s shoulder today, and she was as gentle as a lamb, big beak, scary claws, and all. I was nervous at first, but she didn’t mind our approaching at all and talked to us.

    I like that I don’t need to handle the finches though. I’d be afraid I’d break something, they’re so delicate. I just like to listen to them and admire.

  4. 4 Doktor Holocaust May 17, 2008 at 7:21 am

    Smaller birds are definitely nicer, as there isn’t that constant threat of a flying pair of Nature’s own bolt-cutters dive-bombing your head. i may be a bad judge of pets, though. the only living thing I can manage to take care of is a sort of tumbleweed-esque dinosaur plant, and that’s only because it just curls back up into a little dry tumbleweed-thing when i forget to water it for a month and springs back to life as soon as I refill its dish. (the link is safe for work – it’s an online store that sells gadgets and science toys)

    birds, as I understand, don’t do that.


Leave a Reply

