things I do for love

I just made, for the first time ever, bacon wrapped scallops for the kiddo. And now I want to go take a bath. Blech!

Trust is holding a nail beneath the wobbly wrist of the kiddo as she drives it into a container to make drainage holes  for her tomato plants. So she can learn something.

I’m having a small moral dilemma. I was outside today, butter knife in hand, tightening the legs of a patio table I found on the side of a road (note to Pentyne and T: don’t think I don’t hear the gasp of horror and chorus of “Roz, jr” all the way up in these parts, you two!). Anyway, the kiddo found an adult robin just kind of hanging around, hopping. It didn’t even try to fly away each time we approached. Something has to be wrong. His tail feathers look odd. I don’t know whether i should leave it alone to fly back to its babies, or take it somewhere and get it some help. My grandfather would take it, as he did with a few racoon babies. I don’t like to tamper. But it’s going to rain soon. :sigh: I know I’ll think of this before I go to bed tonight.

5 Responses to “things I do for love”


  1. 1 Doktor Holocaust May 11, 2008 at 5:13 am

    eugh. scallops. some foods are just Right, like cheese or chocolate. and some foods are antithetical to my very concept of food, like scallops. I don’t care if they’ve been wrapped in bacon and hundred dollar bills, I’ll have nothing to do with them.

  2. 2 petitmuse May 11, 2008 at 7:04 am

    yeah, eating things that swim skeeves me.

    Actually, I’ve served bacon wrapped scallops hundreds of times and never really thought of them as food. They were just…there.

  3. 3 Doktor Holocaust May 11, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    it’s mostly bivalves that I have an issue with – they’re rocks with goo in the middle, and I am hesitant to regard them as edible.

  4. 4 petitmuse May 11, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    I’m guessing you don’t care for oysters either, eh? My father compared them to some other body goo that ruined any chance of my embracing those. They smell very metallic too.

  5. 5 Doktor Holocaust May 12, 2008 at 7:08 am

    no, although I do love a good Blue Oyster Cult album from time to time. the animals themselves fall into that “Rocks with goo in the middle” category, like some sort of unwholesome horrific mutant Cadbury Egg.


Leave a Reply

