things I’ve noticed…

….just little things, while I’m in and around here on school break with the kiddo:

  • Ritalin has not in anyway improved my utter inattention and disinterest in the finer details of cleaning. My cleaning sloth is chemical resistant, in spite of recent acquisitions of fragrant sponges in very pretty colors and citrusy scented cleaners.
  • I’ve been to the playground here in and out all week and had two little girls tell me within five minutes of meeting them, that their moms don’t pay attention to them. I’m bewildered. It could be a matter of perspective…the kiddo spends 100% of her time with me outside of school and might throw a statement out there if asked. She always wants me—all of me—all the time. More than I even have, so I understand the otherside. I just know that parents are more important to their kids than perhaps they know.
  • My birds like baths more than even me. And they’re ridiculously messy about it. Just let it all hang out, why don’t you guys???? Sheesh.
  • There is never too much of a good thing in twins. I love that I live near twins!
  • After spending the vacation watching the kiddo impersonate Spiderman by scaling chain link fences (webs, Mama!), and practicing basketball, I can probably say with some accuracy that my kid is not a girly-girl.
  • I’ve been missing these for years In New England and wondered if they were purely an upstate New York thing…but Pentyne, pay attention, because I found them! Headlights! During the kiddo’s field trip at Price Chopper! Some of you may not know what these are, but these doughnuts are a soft, unfilled pillow of fluffy fried dough, with the tops dipped in chocolate and garnished with a dollop of white frosting in the middle. That dollop is so important! As well as the omittance of filling. Can’t eat filled doughnuts. Blech!
5 Responses to “things I’ve noticed…”


  1. 1 Doktor Holocaust April 19, 2008 at 4:55 am

    if you do happen upon something that incites an interest in cleaning, let me know please? there are sections of my lair that haven’t been cleaned in months, partly due to lack of energy (I’ve been sick) and partly due to complete disinterest. It’s easier to leave it uncleaned at this point than try to undo months of not-cleaning.

    as for the can’t-eat-filled-donuts, not even Boston Creams?

  2. 2 petitmuse April 19, 2008 at 7:53 am

    my ex used to pick up Boston Creams, he loves Boston Cream Pie, and I used to make it for him, from scratch. But the filling reminds me of mucus. I’d lick the chocolate tops off of the donuts if I was desperate for a frosting fix. Or if I felt like pissing him off.

  3. 3 Doktor Holocaust April 19, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    I’m all for the pissing off of exes, and chocolate frosting, so it sounds like a winning strategy to me.

    My sister and I both adore frosting and icing, so my parents eventually quit buying it. mom would buy some with the intention of making some kind of dessert with it, but sis would come home from volleyball or swimming craving a sugar fix and go at it with a spoon, then I’d get home from work or college and finish off the container, or we’d intentionally conspire to eat the frosting when Ma and Pa Holocaust weren’t around.

    but now that I am the head of my own household and can eat frosting whenever I please, I never do. I think frosting is more appealing to me when it is plundered.

  4. 4 petitmuse April 19, 2008 at 11:08 pm

    “It just tastes better when you swipe it, doesn’t it!”

    My mom used to hiss that whenever she confronted us with half empty containers of whatever she was saving “for company”. And she was right. It DID taste better that way.

  5. 5 Doktor Holocaust April 20, 2008 at 8:00 am

    if my sister ever has any kids, i will tell them of the times she and i filched the frosting, while slowly peeling open a fresh container of the stuff and tucking it in the fridge.

    wouldn’t want the next generation to miss out on a family tradition.


Leave a Reply

