perspective

Today in the Deciding Room, where, beyond lots of time spent waiting,  nothing ever seems to get accomplished (sigh), I diverted my attention from the details of the room (those bannisters still need a good dusting. And two lightbulbs are out. Beneath my seat where my fidgeting fingers traveled, there was a wad of gum. Not fresh, but somewhat al dente enough that I began to wonder about it’s germ content on contact. I digress) by reading. I read Into the Wild, a biography on Christopher McCandless, a man whose story haunts me, but that’s for another post. I started in the beginning and was more than halfway through the book by the end of the session. In front of me at one point stood a lawyer in a natty three piece suit telling the story of his 40th birthday. All he wanted was a Mont Blanc pen, a three freaking hundred fifty dollar writing implement. It was oddly surreal,  reading this true story of a young man who donated all $24,000.00 of his own money to OXFAM to feed the homeless; someone who regularly subsisted on a ten dollar bag of rice for a month at a time on his fateful trek across the Americas and finally into the bush of Alaska, while this man whined about an absurdly expensive  pen which ultimately did not write well.

3 Responses to “perspective”


  1. 1 Doktor Holocaust April 15, 2008 at 7:22 am

    three hundred and fifty dollars for ONE pen? wha? what sort of strange foreign land with heavy tariffs on ballpoint pens did this lawyer come from, that the basic ballpoint mechanism and ink cartridge technology cost so much? or are they made out of some rare materials like whale-baculum and unicorn hoof? Will it make sandwiches under its own power and do my taxes? I cannot grasp why a pen would cost that much.

    I frequently get compliments on my choice of pen, and the pens I use are about 1.00 to 1.50 a pop, depending on where I get them and if they’re on sale, which sounds about right for a nice pen without any whale or unicorn bits in it.

    Of course, this guy was a Lawyer, after all, and from what I hear they DO sort of live in a very different reality, where pens, being mightier than the sword, cost a freaking lot more than the average piece of medieval cutlery

  2. 2 Holly April 15, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    Ooooh! I’ve got a good Mont Blanc story! I have a famous person’s pen. I kinda sorta stole it. 😉

    How did court turn out???

  3. 3 petitmuse April 16, 2008 at 1:07 am

    another round of negotiating after a continuance until next month. :/


Leave a Reply

