let’s get…

spiritual! Ok, not really. I stole this from dok H.

Astrological Sign? Sagitarrius. Indeed.

Chinese Astrological Sign? Wait while I go google this…well, well—I’m a snake! Mom will be so pleased. Not.

What are you currently setting your intention on or praying for? I pray for bird babies. I pray when I see Finn-Finn lounging on my sweater(s), that he hasn’t peed on it, though my nose suspects he has territorially pissed on one or two. I pray that this upcoming date in the Deciding Room, the one with the dusty bannisters I’ve spoken of before, is the LAST time, please, please, please. Please.

Who do you pray to? Ok, I really don’t consider it  praying in the literal sense, though I used to pray ALOT as a child. And liked it.  Now I meditate to put whatever is on my mind out there, onto and into some mass, communal swirl of energy of collective thoughts and actions.

Do you believe God created humans or humans evolved from primordial goo? I’ll take goo, though I will say that I believe there is some sort of intelligent, or higher force behind evolution. But it’s not a person.

Do you believe in Sin? Interesting how the “s” is capitalized. No, I don’t believe in sin, not in the sense of the decided upon sins that hold one accountable to a higher power, no. That’s too subjective. I do believe in karma though.

Do you believe in Evil? No. That makes poor choices too conveniently unaccountable; as in, “the devil MADE me do it! Save me, I’ve seen the light!” I call bullshit.

What do you do when you see 11:11? am or pm? When I see either the a.m. or p.m. version, I’m usually thinking of some state of rest, if in fact I notice, which is rare.

Do you believe in Angels? as people, yes, there are angels around us. As otherworldly beings, no. Which is odd, because my favorite movie  has angels in it, and I’m down with it as an exercise in existential exploration.

Do you believe in God? If so, what does God look like to you? If there is a God, I hope he’s like Pentyne’s version; an amused sort of boy genius who made an experiment gone awry. I personally don’t believe in God, no.

Is there an aspect of your religion/belief that you haven’t made up your mind about? My religion believes in reincarnation, which is hugely appealing to me and makes sense. But totally commiting to that is in conflict with my strong belief in spirits and “the other side”. I swear I’ve felt a connection to that, so I ask myself sometimes where reincarnation could fit in with that dimension.

Is there a religion that you don’t follow, but deeply respect or admire? I’ve studied Wicca and like the idea of a religion so attuned to nature and the seasons. I love that it’s one of the few religions that revere femine energy and make the female the more divine of the two sexes. I suspect Christianity cobbed quite a few of its customs and holidays from Wicca. I get the idea behind casting spells in a channeling energy sort of way, but it’s just not my thing.

Who has inspired you the most on your spiritual path? No one specifically.

In your opinion, what is the worst mistake we make, as a species? Greed, something no other species seems to possess, at least on the level common to ours.

What is something you would like to believe, but don’t? Santa.

Do you believe in soul mates? Yes.

Reincarnation or heaven? I believe in the possibility of both, at the best of times, when I’m not wondering if there’s just nothing. After all that evolving through various incarnations, a state of rest would be a good and logical idea.

Best “ah ha!” moment/epiphany? In sixth grade, when we had a unit on the Middle East and the three “major” religions that evolved out of there. At first I had a sort of adolescent spiritual crisis, then I concluded  there was more, and perhaps better, out there after thinking about it further.

Required spiritual reading? My favorite so far are the poems of Rumi, because of the scope of states expressed–joy, ecstacy, wisdom, sorrow, love, lust, etc. It’s the most living, breathing, and connected spiritual reading I’ve ever read.

If you could pick, in your final moments, what would your last words be? I have no idea. In the best circumstances, I hope I say something indicative of great love I feel for those I leave.

Advice for a lost soul? Read. Explore. Experiment. Play! Avoid anything that induces guilt. Spend time outdoors, connected with nature.  Leave room for possibilities and less for absolutes.

A song that encapsulates your beliefs? I’m sure there’s one but I can’t think of any off the top of my head.

 

2 Responses to “let’s get…”


  1. 1 Doktor Holocaust April 9, 2008 at 6:57 am

    Wicca’s a recent thing, formulated after the rising interest in pre-christian spirituality during the 19th century. various flavors of wicca are, to varying degrees, derived from pre-christian pagan beliefs from europe, egypt, and the like, but so are various flavors of Christianity (the Roman celebration of the birth of the sun became Christmas, various springtime fertility rites became Easter, post-holiday-doldrum-induced binge drinking became St. Patrick’s Day, that kinda thing).

    On santa, it’s probably better to not believe. I DO believe, and he’s a scary dude. He sees you when you’re sleeping. He knows when you’re awake. He knows, without actually SEEING you while you’re awake if the traditional songs are to be believed, if you’ve been bad or good, so be good for goodness sake because some hard-drinkin’ reindeer-herding supernatural being from the frozen polar wastes that have long been perceived as a land full of evil monsters is watching you while you sleep and making decisions about whether you’ll get a prize this Yule or be carted off to hell by his demonic sidekick Krampus (the punisher of naughty children, swept under the rug in the 19th century when various writers collaborated to create a family-friendly, child-centric version of Christmas for the middle-class families of the industrialized world, but perhaps its for the best).

  2. 2 Diana April 9, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    “What is something you would like to believe, but don’t? Santa.”

    LOVE IT. Totally agree. And also, I love how far this little meme has traveled.


Leave a Reply

