give me strength

There are worse addictions, but damn, I cannot, cannot, cannot walk into Petco.

*deep, deeeeeeeeep breath*

For a long time.

On the kiddo’s “field trip” for her preschool class today we saw so many temptations:

  • Spice Finches! Want! Society Finches! Want! Finches are such delicate birds, with beautiful chocolate and cream colorings. You don’t have to feel compelled to teach them any tricks, just sit back and admire. These could truly be an addiction. I do know there will be more finches in my future.
  • And the fish! Want! The kiddo and I agree that the calico goldfish would do nicely in the aquarium I already have. They’re beautiful little fish that resemble koi. Don’t even get me started on koi fish. Anyway, I actually stood in front of the display, figuring out where they’d go…in my bedroom? Nah, the light would drive me nuts at night. I haven’t decided. But yeah, these will be mine too. In the future.
  • I still can’t pull the kiddo away from the turtles. And they’re fun to watch, they really are. I considered them. But the risk of salmonella cooties icks me out.
  • Then there was Calvin, a beeeeeyooooootiful longhaired golden tiger striped kitty who was visiting Petco for an adoption clinic. So friendly, so adorable. Wouldn’t he be nice???? But I can’t have more than two kitties, alas. Hope he finds a good home. Though taking care of other kitties might be a nice volunteer project for the kiddo and I…
  • I didn’t buy anything.

    Today.

    I’m proud of my control.

2 Responses to “give me strength”


  1. 1 Doktor Holocaust April 7, 2008 at 6:35 am

    This is why I don’t go anywhere near pet stores. if I ever set foot in one, my inner cat-lady would seize hold of me and force me to adopt a cute, lovable kitten or five, and i would love them and squeeze them and lavish attention on them for a week and gradually start to like them less and less as the reality of feeding and cleaning up after a bunch of pets set in.

  2. 2 petitmuse April 9, 2008 at 3:52 am

    I once thought I had a cat lady in me, but my sense of smell has defeated that. I still have a passion for the kitties, but even with just two, the litter box has me near wretching even when I’m just scooping it. I recently forgave the kiddo’s maddeningly embarrassing behavior when she took the scoop from my hand and insisted she do it because she doesn’t like it when Mama gets sick. I have the sweetest kid ever!


Leave a Reply

