grumble

I hate the flu. I hate the flu. Goddamn flu.

So except for that, Easter weekend was a nice one. How was yours? I made the kiddo a roast chicken for dinner. At the last minute, before it went into the nice, toasty oven, the kiddo suddenly felt that we should name the naked, vulnerable bird. I thought for exactly one second and spit out a name on my sh*t list.( And no, it’s not her father….I’m not that twisted. ).

My birds didn’t give me any eggs for Easter. The more I watch them, the more confused I get. I see nest building behavior from Miles, which is normal male behavior. But some of the markings on Felix/Felicia’s body negate thoughts that this bird is a female. Perhaps Miles has issues or is….confused. I dunno.

2 Responses to “grumble”


  1. 1 Doktor Holocaust March 26, 2008 at 8:16 am

    i’m a bit leery of naming food items anything more than the standard designators of breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snack. Or, considering the years I spent on the Hobbit diet of many small meals over the course of a day, Breakfast, Second Breakfast, Elevensies, Lunch, afternoon snack, dinner, supper, and bedsies.

    easter at the Lab was most satisfying, even though the pizza i ordered took an hour to get here. i watched part of Harold and Maude, and spent most of the day basking in the afterglow of George Romero’s latest blessing upon the underserving world, “Diary of the dead,” which I’d watched on saturday night and am still smiling about.

    easter, as I understand it, is all about resurrection, and nobody does resurrection like George A. Romero.

  2. 2 Bets March 29, 2008 at 8:22 am

    Right now, we’re hating Strep Throat… 10 days of amoxicillin, 4 days off, and the Strep is back. 103.4 fever – her highest ever. Luckily she’s 4 (well, nearly) and is pretty resilient.

    Our Easter was good – spent in the mountains of West Virginny in a rented cabin at a state park. Just me and Abs met up with my folks who met us 1/2+ way for a long weekend. T’was a good time.

    The 2nd of my geriatric cats in on the fast down-slope and we’ll know Monday if he’s long for this world – so it’s a difficult season of rebirth for us thus far. But judging by the beauty of all things blooming around us – Spring is definitely on the horizon. Come’on Spring!


Leave a Reply

