plenty of peeps to go around

Well, I’m guessing. Since I’ve gotten the finches, which were assured to be males and aptly named Miles and Felix, I’ve begun to suspect that Felix just might be….a Felicia. This is in part because of some research that I never bothered to do before I made the jump to Crazy (helicoptering) Bird Lady, but the hunch is mostly due to some….behavior…on the part of a rather aggressive and randy Miles. Now, I’m not at all into watching this sort of bird on bird action, but I did have some ducks once upon a time, and I know more than I really care to admit about birds and the birds and the bees.

There are no eggs yet, and no signs of nest building in the little box I so eagerly provided. But some finches never really master the nest carpentry thing. Crazy kids. Between them and the two infant twins who moved in across the way, I am going to be unbearably warm and googly and fuzzy.

I have learned recently that cats and plants do not go together. Nor do birdcages and carpet. Just as I have gotten the kiddo to clean up after herself and do some enthusiastic dusting, I have aquired the equivilant of four toddlers to keep me up to my eyeballs in cleaning and fight intervention. Even the kiddo has taken to parroting “All right you two, knock it off!!” a half dozen times a day.

Tis true that one should be careful about what they wish for.

3 Responses to “plenty of peeps to go around”


  1. 1 Doktor Holocaust March 15, 2008 at 4:08 am

    i know things i don’t need to know about the birds and the bees of birds as well, mainly because whilst surfing the internets I came across an article about parts of ducks that are normally only encountered by their mates and their veterinary care providers. it was a scientific article about duck mating, rather than just some sort of juvenile “LOL funnylookin’ duck naughtybits” sort of thing. Very educational, although it left me feeling like I know too much.

  2. 2 petitmuse March 15, 2008 at 5:18 am

    male duck bits are scary peculiar! not that i’ve ever seen them live or anything. i would think that would be nightmare inducing.

  3. 3 Doktor Holocaust March 15, 2008 at 5:36 pm

    agreed. if i ever play Duck Hunt again, I think fear alone will improve my score.


Leave a Reply

