a touch of grey

Peeking in at the red carpet, my only thought among a sea of pretty blah fashion (with the exception of gorgeous French actress Marion Cottillard), is this: how unfair it is that men look so damned good with some grey streaking through their hair (see George Clooney and Daniel Day Lewis). One of life’s little fuckovers, sez the woman whose first silver thread sprouted at the tender age of 21.

3 Responses to “a touch of grey”


  1. 1 Doktor Holocaust February 26, 2008 at 8:24 am

    i had my first greys at 19. i blamed them on Ma Holocaust. then, as more accrued, college, work, and love interests. poor Pa Holocaust, from whom I get the early-grey gene, went from blonde hair to black as a teen and was half grey by 20, and now has mostly silver hair with a few salt-and-papper bits

    and it does look good. of course, Ma Holocaust’s side of the family are undead fiends, and don’t grey at all, so i’ll have to be an ancient gravewight before I can get enough grey hair for it to look like more than an accidental touch of glitter (“you have tinsel in your hair,” people tell me, because the greys are the shiniest and stand out a lot amongst my dark brown locks, to which i have to reply “no, i have tinsel growing out of my scalp, because i am part Christmas Tree on my dad’s side.”)

    i like grey hairs on people of either gender, as it assures me that i am dealing with a grownup, which is very important to a 12-year-old-in-a-27-year-old-body such as myself.

  2. 2 petitmuse February 27, 2008 at 1:26 am

    Both of my parents gave me a predisposition toward grey. I’m all for looking for one’s age, actually. I just don’t think salt and pepper does anything on a woman. Now if the hair is all silver or white, I think it can look stunning…if it’s done right, not looking like a Q-tip. Long and flowing, or in a sophisticated cut, it gives a sort of otherworldly impression. When I was younger, I didn’t get along much with older women, or women in general, but now, I like and respect them very much, especially since I’ve become a mother myself.

  3. 3 Doktor Holocaust February 27, 2008 at 8:24 am

    I think a streak of silver or white can look good in long hair on men or women. I wish i had enough silver for a streak – i would intentionally style/cut my hair to show it off.

    I’ve always gotten along with older women. while Pa Holocaust was off in Iceland for a few years doing mysterious military-stuff in the 1980s, I was raised by Ma Holocaust and her matronly crew of aunts and female cousins, and my best friend (since i was but a wee Gradeschool Holocaust of 15) is a woman and older than me, and my pals at work are older women.

    It’s young people i have a hard time with.


Leave a Reply

