today

Of all the institutional holidays, Valentine’s Day is the only one that doesn’t sit quite well with me. Seems like a holiday for those who have something to prove, or are trying to hard. And I don’t like seeing genuine love pimped out like that. That’s the curmudgeon in me, I guess. Though I can’t complain about the abundant chocolate.

I do celebrate, for the kiddo. My mom, long ago, started something called “the Valentine Lady”, who’d drop off treats for those still at home while the older kids were in school. I like it, and since it’s fun to shop for the kiddo, we have a Valentine Lady too.

I don’t usually do this, as regular readers here know, but isn’t she kind of cute here?

dscf0577.jpg
4 Responses to “today”


  1. 1 Bets February 15, 2008 at 2:22 am

    she’s grown so much, I can’t get over it!

  2. 2 petitmuse February 15, 2008 at 2:26 am

    I know! I know. She still wants to be my baby though, bless her little heart.

  3. 3 Doktor Holocaust February 17, 2008 at 2:33 am

    I find it interesting that the next major folkloric holiday on the calendar (rather than bank/government holidays like President’s Day) is Saint Patrick’s Day. I think of it as a merciful bit of holiday arrangement for the people who have a hard time with Valentine’s Day. “Yeah, all that sappy mushy stuff is a real pain – here, have some booze.”

  4. 4 petitmuse February 17, 2008 at 2:41 am

    ha! gotta admire the Irish sense of humor…wry, mirthful, and usually laden with irony.


Leave a Reply

