five candles

were blown out. The tres leches cake was absolutely fab, and kind of fun to make. I even managed a somewhat purple whipped topping. This is a cake that must be served absolutely cold. I can see this being a big hit in summer, with any kind of sliced fresh fruit. We sprinkled the kiddo’s favorite, blueberries, on top. If you make it, don’t even bother sugaring your homemade whipped cream (I can’t imagine coolwhip on this one)…the cake is sweet enough. The only thing I might change with the recipe is a substitution of coconut milk for whole milk, just for added flavor.

The kiddo still wants nothing to do with being five. It’s harder on her than it is on me. I figure, hey, she should try being me, who’s *thisclose* to bifocals. Truly disturbing. I’m one of those people now who has to take off her glasses and find a comfortable distance to read small print.

Super Bowl, Super Tuesday. Whatever. I might peek in on the Superbowl, because even though I’m not a fan, I like watching Tom Brady, cool as a cucumber, plant himself into position and just throw wherever he wants, even with a full on rush of 250lb men on him. But I’m not otherwise a fan.

My only interest in the primaries has been not who wins, but who drops out. I felt like having a party after Guiliani withdrew. Since I have moved, I need to register again. I’ve decided to register as an independent for the first time. Not because of any love for Republicans, but because neither party does anything for me. The change I’d like to see is a real end to the two party system. I think there’s room enough for five or six. It’s not that I haven’t been listening and paying attention, but there is no candidate that has compelled me to choose yet.

Lastly, I was driving around in the car yesterday and heard on the radio that Gwen Stefani was expecting her 2nd child, and to my complete and bewildering surprise, I felt an intense rush of….jealousy. Yikes!

3 Responses to “five candles”


  1. 1 Bets February 4, 2008 at 5:03 am

    re: Gwen – mee too.

    Personally, I was sorry to see John Edwards drop out. I know it was a far fetch – but I do like him.

  2. 2 petitmuse February 4, 2008 at 6:42 am

    I in no way want to be pregnant, really. But I’ve been holding babies and looking at ’em and something in me swells.

    At first, I couldn’t believe I’d have even one. Now it seems odd that I’m not going to have two.

    I was closer in views to Kucinich, but I didn’t even trust that. Right now I’m sick of all the mongering and jockeying. Mehh.

  3. 3 Doktor Holocaust February 4, 2008 at 8:33 am

    i have decided to abstain from voting until a candidate comes out and says “I will say whatever you want to hear to get elected, and then do whatever i want with no regard to previous promises once in office.” Once a candidate comes right out and says that, I’m gonna vote for them. I also want a KOOK president. a foil-hat-wearing, UFO-fearing, conspiracy-theorizing lunatic.

    I’ll never get my dream candidate though, so i can’t bring myself to keep up with whatever sanitized-for-mass-consumption sitcom-dad-dropouts they’re sticking on the ballots anymore


Leave a Reply

