lighter and fluffier

I’m feeling better today. The kiddo’s cake is looking like success. The batter was a beautiful pale yellow, and gently sweet. Smelled great in the oven. It is now sitting in my fridge, soaking up the sweet milk and waiting for fresh whipped topping. One feels sketchy dumping three or four cups of milk onto a cake, but it looks like it’s going to absorb it A-ok. Well and good. Besides, we picked up some strawberries for it just in case it’s lacking something. Nothing like baking to set spirits to right.

See, I’ve been in this wierd funk regarding what I’m going to do with my hard-won independence, and how I’m going to do it. My rockstar therapist and I are at work on it though. She’s nicer to me than I am at this point. I trust her. We’ll figure it out.

Today was a good day, and that’s the thing. The kiddo and I went to The Fun Store, where she added yet another lion and stuffed snake (the latest of her growing obsessions) to her softie jungle. I found the hardcover version of one of my favorite books ever, which is good, because I lost it somewhere this summer. I just need to find  my favorite lines and re-underline. And then…ahhhhh….and then, this hottie I’ve noticed for some time, all scruffy and cute in just the manner that I like ’em, said hello to me and asked me how I was doing no less than three times. He didn’t appear to have multiple personalities or anything like that. Nope, he’s just a sweet, cool guy. Not that I’m trawling around looking for anything in that department right now–much to soon— but, come to think of it, where else would someone like me find someone kind of like me? I don’t even remember his name. I just mentally call him Will because, well, he works at Goodwill. It’s fun and liberating to look without feeling as though you’re doing something wrong. Looking is fun. Feeling guilty is not. I want to keep enjoying looking at all of the wonderful walking views til I die. Must remember to note that to the rockstar psych. She’s all for looking at new and wonderful positives. Heh. Ok, so we have baking and enjoying, um….the view(s), for newly recognized postives. Gottit.

I found this little gem the other day. If you like Fellini’s La Strada, I think you’ll enjoy it.

I just love Gelsomina. The Cat Power scoring is a nice touch.

Ciao, peeps.

4 Responses to “lighter and fluffier”


  1. 1 Gertibird February 3, 2008 at 11:21 am

    Yes, today IS a good day. We make it that way for ourselves and others. Keeping writing and let us know how the cake turned out!

  2. 2 Holly February 5, 2008 at 2:03 am

    HA! How conveeeeenient that you left out the part about the hottie while we were chatting! 😉

  3. 3 petitmuse February 5, 2008 at 2:46 am

    well, that just means you will have to come back to visit and prowl with me, and I will show you Mr. (Good)Will. I planned it that way. Next time you have to bring Sarah…Emm asked about her after you left. I really enjoyed having the girls over :>


  1. 1 happiness… « petites méditations Trackback on March 9, 2009 at 9:24 pm

Leave a Reply

