inside out

In one of my favorite movies, The Five Senses, a cake maker creates beautiful cakes that unfortunately don’t taste too good. She’s unaware of the fact until her fabulous Italian lover, this amazing, gorgeous man full of the vibrant and warm stuffs of life, brings this to her attention. Sometimes I feel like one of those cakes. I get told often these days what a fabulous job I’m doing with my life, but inside I don’t feel so faboo.

It’s kind of like my own cakes that I bake every year for the kiddo’s birthday. We’ll be baking it in a day or so (always bake the cake a day or two ahead, to let the flavors “bloom” into the structure. It’s a secret that works). Uually, I make an Italian cream cake and get good results. Some years, I’ve been tempted by other recipes, and produced either a great tasting cake that looks awful, or a nice looking cake that is unfortunately tasteless, even with the support of my little secret. This year, I’m very tempted by a tres leche cake, which I feel intuitively will taste great, but I’m wondering if all that moist milk will support a decorating job. The decorating job is pretty important this year, a milestone year. It must be purple, per the kiddo’s orders. We can’t seem to get enough of the color, both of us.

She’s not crazy about becoming a year old and seems to have regressed purposely into baby mode. I think once she gets a taste of the perks, she’ll grab onto the idea though.

Last night was a rough night. I will only say that unlike kitties and kiddies, fish don’t vomit, and for that one small fact, I am grateful instead of running screaming over the edge.

6 Responses to “inside out”


  1. 1 Doktor Holocaust January 31, 2008 at 7:08 am

    milk…cake? Purple milk cake? WANT! I go through like half a gallon of the cowjuice a day, being a dairy-fiend, and I shall not even attempt to calculate my cheese-chomping, I must learn to bake cakes, so i can make this super-milk-cake you speak of.

    does it work with chocolate? chocolate-milk-cake? i am getting pleasantly dizzy just thinking of it.

  2. 2 Holly January 31, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    Ooooh. I’ve made tres leches before with a SUPER easy recipe…Take one store-bought butter pound cake. Slice it to fit the pan you are using for the cake. Poke holes in the slices if you like. Blend together sweetened condensed milk and evaporated milk. Pour that over the pound cake. Whip up some real whipped cream, sweeten it, and ‘frost’ the cake with that.

    Voila!

  3. 3 petitmuse January 31, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    Holly: you may want to prepare yourself for purple whipped cream. I’m thinking she’ll like this recipe since she doesn’t really care for traditional cake. I’m intrigued.

    Dr H: Chocolate tres leche…that’s an interesting idea. hmmm.

  4. 4 Doktor Holocaust January 31, 2008 at 7:38 pm

    my kitchen is woefully underquipped because I don’t cook. I don’t even have a pan to bake anything in – just a flat round cookie-sheet-ish thing for heating up frozen pizzas.

    One cake-ish thing i did that was good (though definitely not appropriate for the Kiddo, until her 21st birthday anyway). 1 good-sized slice of chocolate ice-cream cake with mint-choco-chip icecream, microwave for ten seconds until it gets stirrably mushy. add Bailey’s Irish Cream and stir vigorously until it all swirls together into a brown mush. The end result is a fantabously delicious cake soup.

  5. 5 petitmuse February 1, 2008 at 3:34 am

    Though I’d put in many, many years of slave work in all kinds of restaurants, my interest in cooking took flight took flight when I cohabited, mostly. Before that, I was perfectly happy to live on salads, sandwiches, and cottage cheese. Actually, food doesn’t even seem like food in a restaurant atmosphere, at least not behind the scenes. It’s just another product to move around. Not very appetizing.

    I’ve never been very interested in having lots of gear around, though I am lusting for a Kitchenaid Mixer. I have a couple of basic cookie sheets, round and oblong pans, cast iron pans (must haves), two covered casserole dishes, and a 2 saucepans. I’ve had tiny kitchens and for that reason, I shun anything that does only one job (‘cept my popcorn popper and my waffle iron). I miss my clay pot that I used to roast my chickens in though. Perfect every time. I’ve baked pizzas in cast iron pans and the crust has been really good.

    I go back and forth on Bailey’s…sometimes I love it, other times, meh. I don’t drink spirits much at all; wine, mostly.

  6. 6 Doktor Holocaust February 1, 2008 at 6:57 am

    my kitchen is sadly underequipped, i have:
    2 saucepans, no lids.
    1 big sauciere for making sloppyjoes/hamburger-helper
    1 round cookiesheet for making pizzas
    1 small frying pan for eggs.
    toaster
    microwave
    coffeepot.
    2 plastic measuring cups
    1 6 piece kitchen knife set
    0 mixers, blenders, food-processors, etc since toaster, microwave, and coffeepot take up ALL my counterspace.

    but I’m a bachelor and therefore allowed to live on processed quick-fix foods and pizza delivery, though I prefer just grazing on fruit and nuts with the occasional Hot Pocket while at home.


Leave a Reply

