mmm, orange

Every so often, when I feel like being super nutritionally pure, I buy up a horde of betacarotene packed, orange foods….squashes, carrots, sweet potatoes, and so on. So tonight, I took out a big ol’ rutabaga/turnip, something I usually only eat when I go home to New York to visit. The proper preparation is a point of contention with my mother and a certain sister of hers. I don’t even bring up Thanksgiving dinners  anymore, because she could go on, and on, and on about how bad this sister’s turnips are. Like most things of this nature, it’s probably about a lot more than turnips.

Have you ever tried to cube up a turnip?!? Not the little, pink and white ones…the big, waxy melon size ones. Ohmygod. I actually thought it would be harder to peel, but halfway through attempting to halve the thing, I gave up and stuck it in a saucepan full of water, where it’s boiling now, like a soggy orange softball. I have no idea how long it’s going to take to cook through.

My mom always cubed hers. And I’m not surprised. She’s a very physically strong woman, a horse. When I was a teenager, you knew my mother meant business when she’d pound her bare index finger repeatedly and loudly on the table to emphasize a point (there were many, often). Do not try this. It hurts like hell! That shoe pounder over in Russia had nothing on my mom.

2 Responses to “mmm, orange”


  1. 1 Holly January 28, 2008 at 6:53 pm

    Ha! Favorite memory time here: About a year before my dad died, there was a death in his wife’s family, and she left town to be with her kids in Texas. I flew to Illinios from California to take care of my dad around the house for a week while she was gone. I know his love of rutabaga, so off I go to the Piggly Wiggly to buy one. I get it back to his house, and realize it is next to impossible to cut this thing open. So, I plop it in the pan, wax and all. Obviously, an hour later it’s still like a rock, so I do what any smart girl does, I call JenQu, who informs me that it is time to spear the thing, liberate it from the pot, and whack it to pieces before returning it to the pan with FRESH water (minus the scum of wax that had coated the whole thing before). She laughed, I laughed, and about half an hour later my dad and I had dinner.

  2. 2 petitmuse January 28, 2008 at 11:23 pm

    ha! JenQu is a wise and funny woman. Like you!


Leave a Reply

