I was reading this article this morning and thought of the kiddo’s first three years. I’d like to think they were good ones. I spent the first three years in a bit of wonder and disbelief at how much I enjoyed this little being. Things were not always easy, but what I  most wanted for her to feel secure. We were always together. We had fun.

She fights me in the mornings this week on going to school, but she’s doing so well, and when I pick her up, she chirps away at how much fun she had. Her teachers love the detail in her drawings. I must post some…they’re delightful. I haven’t figured out what the next step is as far as her education goes–I only know that I want it to be different and more personal. Just feel that way.

She’s changed so much in three months. Two months ago, I took her to the dentist and it was hell on earth just getting her to open her mouth to allow them to count her teeth. Yesterday, we went again, and she was supremely cooperative. She loves people. They love her. Little charmer.

Is it normal to love therapy as much as I do? I’m not going to get all Woody Allen on  you, but this has come as a real surprise. I’ve tried twice before, only when my soul was on its knees screaming “make it stop!”. And things would, for awhile, but I found it to be dull and boring once, and the other time, I wasn’t feeling very cooperative.

Still am getting used to the car. I’ve only recently figured out how to defrost my windshield. 18 years, people. Don’t laugh! Thank heavens my gas cap is attached to the car though.

4 Responses to “”


  1. 1 Bets January 16, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    Oh I do love having you back, my dear.

  2. 2 Bets January 16, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    p.s. the fighting going to school but then loving every minute of being there has been our norm for the past year. tear-filled mornings that start as soon as she wakes up and asks if she’s going to school today~ and the day ends with us leaving school hand in hand, with Abs proclaiming ” I’m going to HUG MY SCHOOL tomorrow when we get here, Mom. I love my school. Bye, school! See you tomorrow!”
    Yet, come wake-up time, we’re back to tears. Repeat story above.
    Don’t fret. (But it’s hard on a poor ma’s soul… I know!)

  3. 3 Doktor Holocaust January 18, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    i can definitely relate to the Kiddo. even at 27, i complain all morning about having to get up early in the morning and curse the job that asks this of me, but once I get there, I’m actually quite happy to work there.

  4. 4 petitmuse January 18, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    I’m like that in the morning too. I get over in the afternoon. However, when I was in kindergarten, I couldn’t wait to get to school. She’s consistently a homebody though.


Leave a Reply

