While I was away…

I learned in Art In America that Lenore Tawney, an artist whose collage work I’d discovered in recent years, passed away. She was 100 years old. She’s best known for a lengthy and honored career in fiberwork, but it’s her postcard collages that caught my eye in her beautiful book, Signs on the Wind. It’s one of my very favorites, and I made sure it was with me during my hiatus. It’s a small publication of quirky, intensely personal treasures that read like richly coded, poetic secrets between she and her correspondents.

I discovered also in Art America the artist Spencer Finch, an artist whose work replicates qualities of light, and therefore, experiences. Sunlight in an Empty Room (Passing Cloud for Emily Dickinson) allows the viewer to pass around it and experience the quality of light during a visit he took to Emily Dickinson’s garden.

I saw Away From Her, Sarah Polley’s directorial debut, starring a luminous Julie Christie as the ethereal, wispy, and slowly fading Fiona. Though I thought it was a bit sacharrine in spots, I’m looking forward to seeing more work from Polley, an actress whose work I’ve loved since The Sweet Hereafter. Overall, this was an honest and empathetic look at commitment.

I’ve sneered at them in the past as some of you well know, but after my arthritic ankles begged me for mercy I broke down and bought ’em. Yes, I am the not quite proud but remarkably pain free owner of a pair of purple Crocs.

0 Responses to “While I was away…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

