new and most improved

The kiddo and I have settled into a cute new pad, along with a pair of two adorably cute and distinctly different kitty cats. If I find (um, when, actually, I find) the charger for my camera batteries, I’ll show’em to ya. They really are awesome, even though they are snarling and hissing at each other in that oh-so-fun territorial dance that cats are renowned for. Finn (actually, Dexter, but I call those I love many names) is the lone male in our house now; dignified, incredibly furry, and a little chubby. I think he’s very comfortable with his girth though, and no matter what arrangement he’s in, he always looks damned gorgeous. When he’s not hanging out on top of my cupboards, he’s a bit high maintenance, but that’s just fine with me. Nelly is a gorgeous 2 year old who seemed fated to be mine from the moment I laid eyes on her. She’s a mix of my two former cats in color….black (Friday)  and ginger striped (Charles). The effect is stunning, especially with her green-gold eyes. She needed a home, and I think she feels she’s still auditioning. Nelly tries very hard to be the perfect cat, and if she thought I so desired, she’d probably do the dusting on top of everything else felines do. But I already have a duster, don’t I, Holly?

We got a car a couple of days before my birthday. It’s a powder blue station wagon we call Winnie. She just seems like a Winnie, and I have Holly to thank for coming up with that. The kiddo gives her long hugs before we go anywhere, and I’d laugh at that, except I hugged my vacuum cleaner when I got it back last week. I don’t hug Winnie because I’ve never been crazy about cars….she’s my first in 18 years. That’s right. 18. years. I could have raised a child in that time. Wow. But if I’m going to have a car, and I can’t afford a hybrid (or, more impractically and preferably, a motorcycle), a station wagon is perfect for someone who loves to cart home “projects” and haul large and cumbersome orders to the post office.

The kiddo has been even more charming than the cats. In fact, she pretty much thinks she’s either a cat or a lion. She growls at me when I don’t get it right, which passes from minute to minute. Or so it seems. Perhaps in honor of Finn, she’s started something called “The Fat Cats Club”. It is an exclusive circle of her closest stuffed kitties (there are many), who gather in a group beneath Finn, who perches up on the refrigerator. As far as I know (yes, I’ve peeked in), all they do is snarf sliced peaches. Lots of peaches. Which is why I’m not included in this little kitty clique, because I hate peaches.

She’s been like that lately though, evasive and kind of exclusive. She’s just found her people; meaning, her peers. They’re in preschool, where she goes in the mornings now. I’d always imagined it would be hard to make the break for both of us, but it wasn’t at all. How could I feel bad when she’s having such a good time? But she’s maddeningly evasive….actually, coy would be the better word, when it comes to sharing just what she does there with me. I try to wait until we’re at least halfway down the hall before I start my gentle grilling, but I always get the same answer no matter what other approach I take: I don’t knoooooow. Picture it accompanied with a Mona Lisa smile. I can’t stand it! This is because somehow, I see the future:

“Sweetheart, has Wesleyan/Cooper Union/Colby/Ithaca College accepted you yet?…. Have you two eloped?……Are you….expecting?”

I know the answers, already. Over and over. You do, too.

6 Responses to “new and most improved”


  1. 1 Holly January 10, 2008 at 7:16 pm

    Smoooooch! 🙂

  2. 2 petitmuse January 10, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    Right back at you, sweetie.

  3. 3 Doktor Holocaust January 11, 2008 at 7:55 am

    hooray! for the car, the cats, and Kiddo being so happy with school!

    And i have many fond memories of using “I don’t knnnooooooow” on my own relatives. of course, at one point i was a teenage boy, so it became a mumbled grunt of sorts.

    these days, I figure if they still ask, i may as well give them an answer, so “Idunno” has become long rambling tales of office-drama with some comedic sci-fi zombie apocalypse conspiracy theorizing thrown in for spice, and that is prefaced by the ten minuets of backstory that I have to tell them so theyw ill understand who i am talking about when I talk about the various people at work, so perhaps “I don’t knoooooooow” should be enjoyed while it lasts.

  4. 4 Gertibird January 12, 2008 at 2:38 am

    Yes this is my third comment today! No I don’t have anything better to do! What an abundant new year you are having! You are giving birth to kitties and cars and independent young ladies!!!!
    HOW have you gotten along for 18 years without a car? I guess your carbon footprint is making up for mine…you don’t want to know how many motorized vehicles we have had over the past 11 years of marriage.
    And YES…I have a motorcycle…big scooter actually, a Suzuki Bergman….it purrrrs….
    later gator

  5. 5 petitmuse January 12, 2008 at 3:05 am

    i have an aversion to moving boxes. but i love anything on two wheels.
    you have a motorcycle? oh, now i am jealous of you, yes i am.
    my ex had a Buell and it was such a sweet, sweet ride. then he crashed it. then we had a baby and just never replaced it. i’d like something small and zippy someday.


  1. 1 naughty children « petites méditations Trackback on June 3, 2008 at 8:32 pm

Leave a Reply

