random odds and ends

While I’m still unpacking box upon box:

Isn’t this precious? I love its gentle sense of wonder and sincerity.

I’m going to get wierd and sort of woowoo on you, but I’ve long wondered if the great pyramids of Egypt were constructed by aliens who either came to Earth and introduced something new (as in a new race of people or civilization), or constructed them, and then left. Ok, I know that sounds crazy. But when I look upon those pyramid images on Mars, I kinda wonder.

My experiences during the past two months have been densely packed but positive. So dense that I’m still sorting things out in my mind for writing. But I’ll tell you that I got to hold a couple of sweet babies…finally, I’ve had my chance again to cuddle babies! And now I’ll have another one to spoil in the summer. Nope, it’s not me. Sweet Pentyne is anticipating. We are all quelle thrilled.

Has anyone seen any of these? The Diving Bell and the Butterfly, Juno, There Will Be Blood, No Country for Old Men? I’ve missed a lot of movies. I wish Julian Schnabel made many more…I love everything he does.  Same pretty much goes for P.T. Anderson too. Daniel Day Lewis simply has not made enough movies in recent years either, though I’m probably one of the few who utterly dislikes his character in the wretched Gangs of New York (sorry, Marty).

Another night, another strange dream: in this one, Angelina Jolie was mom to my teenaged self. Despite Angelina’s cool factor, we still fought like viscious cats and dogs.

I’ve learned that I can live without many things during that past two months, but goddamn, I missed my big bed.

2 Responses to “random odds and ends”


  1. 1 Doktor Holocaust January 11, 2008 at 7:42 am

    out in my corner of the universe, which is rich in weird and woowoo and kookiness and many other elements that are vital to the survival of my people, it is largely expected that aliens, time-travelers from the future, reptilian beings from a planet that used to share earth’s orbit but was always on the other side of the sun from us before it blew up (or their descendants living in a vast network of tunnels in the Earth’s crust), robots, or intangible space-monsters pretending to be God are responsible for a lot of things, meddling with human politics and religion for fun and profit.

    No mention of the Pyramids specifically, which may just have been ancient Egypt’s version of a ginormous state-funded construction project meant to help the economy, like the Hoover Dam, but it’s highly likely since giant geometrically precise structures meant to make sure the King gets a nice afterlife are nothing if not Politics and Religion.

    the video was neat. creeped me out a little, though, as it looked like a type of alien that I have heard disconcerting things about.

  2. 2 Gertibird January 12, 2008 at 12:50 am

    DDL was absolutely LOATHSOME in Gang of NY!


Leave a Reply

