hmmm….

My first car was a blazing orange hatchback with all manner of things wrong with it. But it had one thing that I felt was a reflection of its driver: a little bumper sticker  proclaiming that “when the going gets tough, the tough go shopping”. True. It was very much my life at the time. Wake up in a bad mood? Sale at The Limited, let’s go load up and feel better.   Bad day at work? Well, there’s a perfect blouse in just the right shade of shell pink calling….I must go forth! It was nearly always clothes that provided just the right amount of comfort. I’ve since shed that philosophy in favor of more constructive pursuits, usually involving dirt, paint, paper, etc.

I’m remembering all of this now because my dear kiddo has shocked me recently with her discovery of the joys of retail therapy.

The mind boggles at the things she feels we “need”, though she did warm my heart and impress me with her sensible taste in cars (she feels we really, really need a Vokswagen Rabbit….I’m on board there, if we ever really did need a car.). She’s not so bad in the grocery store, actually, she’s quite good at dropping things I’ve “forgotten”, things like miniature marshmallows for her hot chocolate, bread and butter pickles, and the odd bag of Cheetos here and there. However, she’s discovered K-Mart, a new obsession that happened sometime around Halloween in the costume section. She feels now that we need every toy on the planet, plus a bevy of office supplies (???!!!!!). She’s not very subtle about getting them in the cart either, and the checkout is time for major cajoling and bargaining. It’s painful.

Today, however, at the Salvation Army (we call it The Fun Store), I was able to talk her out of an outrageously expensive Lion King toy until it was discounted to a more reasonable choice. I will digress and say that even some of the thrift shops have been insanely priced and require one to know there retail prices.

We’re looking at preschools. This looks promising. The kiddo inspects them with me and never wants to leave.

We have terribly spoiled squirrels in our yard outside who like to come right up on the porch rail and feast on the open faced peanut butter sandwiches we make them.

The kiddo feels also that we are in urgent need of a pet…..a parrot, in fact.  They scare me!

4 Responses to “hmmm….”


  1. 1 Doktor Holocaust November 13, 2007 at 8:13 am

    ahh, retail therapy. were it not for the sweet, sweet succor of having new Stuff, I might never have gotten out of some of my funks, and i did get a nice gently-used laptop and some good dvds out of it.

  2. 2 Puppycup November 14, 2007 at 2:44 am

    A parrot? Oh my…I have a love affair with outdoor birds of all kinds, and often try to find ways to iovtie them into our yard but the caged sort people keep as pets I find annoying. Although I do feel a bit of remorse for my treatment of the couple of birds dear mom used to have–more than once I found it entertaining to watch the family cat with saucer eyes irritating the damn things, and I would frequently bat the cage when they got noisy. Luckily I have outgrouwn my ill behaviour (fearing that one day karma will have its way with me and I will be reincarnated as a poor caged parakeet). But you must remind the dear kiddo that we have a very fat cat waiting for her to love as her own =)

    As to the shopping–I remember the shopping trips with my dear young lad in tow and getting to the counter with all sorts of odd items he felt we needed. Especially in the grocery store. Any number of sugar cereals, crackers, chips or the odd bag of fresh spinach for salad (God bless Popeye).

    Kiss the kiddo for me and nice to see you back on the blog =)

  3. 3 petitmuse November 14, 2007 at 10:47 pm

    i’m askeered of the beaks and feet. ack!

    she meows often and tells everyone she comes across that she’s a kitty. i’ve been thinking of my sweet little Friday and wishing he were in Emm’s life right now…she’d have adored him as much as i did.

    i so love that your kiddo hearts spinach salad :>

  4. 4 Doktor Holocaust November 15, 2007 at 8:08 am

    i am scared of birds too. My mom keeps parrots. they adore her verymuchly and, under no special training, gleefully attempt to remove the eyes of anyone who isn’t her. my glasses are the reason I’m not an eyepatch-wearing Cap’n Holocaust.

    of course, I had a cat that didn’t like anyone who wasn’t me, and mom has the facial scars to prove it, heh.


Leave a Reply

