love, love

I love quintessential New England days with quintessential New England weather while hanging out in a pumpkin patch with a dear friend and our beautiful girls, picking out, whatelse; the quintessential pumpkin.

And I’ve gotta love dear Mom of Assissi, who will drop her phone mid conversation in order to perform an intervention between a stalking neighborhood cat and a rare black squirrel. Save the squirrels!

 I also that the kiddo still loves to wear baby lotion and must be in my arms in order to sleep.

Someday, though, I’d love for her to reveal certain mysteries in our life, such as, for example, why she must nibble on the white and yellow ends of the candy corn and leave the middle orphaned.

Happy October!

9 Responses to “love, love”


  1. 1 T October 2, 2007 at 5:51 am

    Weeelll…those ARE the best parts of the candy corn-I used to do the same thing, although eventually I would eat the middle. She’s a girl after my own heart. I loved the pumpkins best tho. We haven’t gone to the pumpkin patch yet but are breaking out the house decorations tomorrow if there is time after school. My favorite parts of autumn are the crunching of the colorful leaves on a sunny walk with kids or dog in tow, and driving down a tree lined highway with the windows open and music turned up just enough. Kiss the kiddo for me and let us know what the imp is dressing up as for Halloween.
    T

  2. 2 Doktor Holocaust October 2, 2007 at 3:16 pm

    I remember an article from a year or two ago that mentioned black squirrels in Russia attacking and eating a dog.. it’s quite possible that those black squirrels hunt in packs like Velociraptors or somesuch, so Mom of Assissi quite possibly saved the cat’s life.

    I love fall days when it’s warm enough for short sleeves and cool enough to not roast alive no matter what I wear, driving around with the windows down and a big grin on my face just because it’s finally October and the weather is nice and in a few weeks I get to have my favorite kinds of holiday fun and stock up on cheap candy and there’s a horror movie on every channel.

  3. 3 Puppycup October 2, 2007 at 6:53 pm

    I love Autumn. It’s really my favorite season, with Spring coming in a close second. Something about the smells of the grass, leaves and my favorite Yankee Candle in Harvest, and all of the rich colors in reds, golds and rich browns. Something about the cooler weather always snaps me back into action, making me feel oddly alive. Maybe it’s because I want to be a slug in any weather over 75 or under 40 degrees.
    Also I love the return of Fall TV–The Office (my current fave) didn’t fail to deliver. If you aren’t currently a convert I strongly urge you to give the first few seasons a try. They make me laugh harder each time I watch them. And I never get bored of watching reruns.
    Grey’s was a bit underwhelming, as was Dexter but I think they’ll start to get better (they’re sort of slow boil shows anyway). Same with Heroes–I don’t think I’ve ever more eagerly awaited a show weekly in which pretty much nothing happens throught-out the entire episode. And this pattern repeats itself every.single.week. Yet I continue to be a fan…Gotta love it

  4. 4 Bets October 3, 2007 at 3:28 am

    I like October best because my birthday is tomorrow ~ once a birthday princess, always a birthday princess ~

    Oh, and the crunchy leaves and blue blue sky aren’t bad either.

  5. 5 petitmuse October 4, 2007 at 10:28 pm

    dok: i may have to give that a mention to my mom….though her own cats drive her crazy enough that she may end up feeding a cat to a black squirrel cat in desparation.

    tam: the kiddo is going to be a pumpkin for halloween..perhaps with some bats attached to it, kind of flying around her in a swarm. she’s still obsessed with bats. i thought of spiders, but they creep her out. she’s funny. i remember biting off the white tips of candy corn first, but of course, finishing all of it…hey, it was candy!

    bets: if i missed this while i was away…happy, happy birthday! mwah!

    pentyne: i remember mixing harvest at YC; the smell was a bit overwhelming for me. glad you like it though. i don’t care much for scented candles anymore; save fresh cut grass or just plain old beeswax. i must get the first season of office…i love steve, and “arthur” from six feet under; i adored him. the show was not the same without him.

  6. 6 Bets October 5, 2007 at 5:41 am

    All that talk about TV – Did anyone watch Pushing Daisy’s? I really wanted to, but that’s the worst time for tv. The director did something else I love.. and it’s eluding me now.

    Just curious.
    B

  7. 7 Doktor Holocaust October 5, 2007 at 6:22 am

    i see a lot of squirrels in my area. just the typical brown kind, but still. they’re the ONLY animals I see around here. there was a bunny once, for a little while, but it hasn’t come back in months.

  8. 8 Bets October 5, 2007 at 8:05 am

    Wow. We’ve got foxes, deer, mice, bats (in my attic even, I’m proud to admit), cats, dogs, raccoons, opossums, bunnies galore – loads of horses – even the wild kinds just 2 hours away. But my favorite are the pair of red tailed hawks that have nested the past two years in the trees behind my neighbors house – they are spectacular. You should make your way to some woods and be with nature. 🙂

  9. 9 Doktor Holocaust October 5, 2007 at 3:41 pm

    the probably-ate-the-bunny-and-the-stray-cats squirrels outside my apartment are about all the nature I need.


Leave a Reply

