it’s love,

apparently:

“Coleslaw, you are my best. friend. EVER.”

Yep. She said that at the dinner table tonight. Evidently, mom’s coleslaw warrants warm fuzzies such as this declaration. She’s a funny one. It will be interesting to see who becomes her human best friend. Will she choose someone as quirky as she is, or her opposite? Hmm.

She also knows the difference between cheddar and meunster cheeses. I don’t remember distinguishing things such as that, but her palate loudly prefers…no, demands, cheddar.

Thanks to one over-ripe tomato (they look so pretty in a rustic way piled in a bowl on the table), I have a freaking fruit fly problem going on here. For days I’ve been emptying bowls of vinegar and soap full of the creepy little dead things. Ugh. They aren’t on a par with, say; ticks, for sheer revoltingpukeinducing qualities, but those beady little red eyes are creeping me out.

8 Responses to “it’s love,”


  1. 1 Doktor Holocaust September 8, 2007 at 10:43 pm

    i keep a vinegar bowl over my sink, as they tend to weasel their way in with any produce I get and lay eggs in my garbage disposal if i don’t do anything about them. I tried aerosol pesticides, but they were inferior to the mighty powers of apple-cider vinegar and soap.

  2. 2 Doktor Holocaust September 8, 2007 at 10:44 pm

    and coleslaw rocks. I’m about to have some with lunch.

    and I also demand cheddar cheese, extra sharp vermont cheddar that i can only get from one store around here. thankfully, i have some in the fridge, near the coleslaw. either i have the palate of a child or the Kiddo has good taste, or both.

  3. 3 petitmuse September 9, 2007 at 1:23 am

    there was a cheese we used to get once in a while by the name of “the dreaded cheddar”. yep, that’s what its name was. because of the smell of its extra-extra-extra sharpness. only small quantities were made. the regular cheese was excellent and pretty well known, this; i could take or leave. but i love nearly all cheese.

    coleslaw must be sweet, yet have a lot of zip and still be creamy. none of this neutral cabbage and mayo stuff. i like it with chopped peanuts in it too sometimes. i’m sort of surprised that the kiddo has to have it every freaking day, but then she is half eastern european descent, and their cuisine features a lot of cabbage.

    i think i’m making headway on the damned ff’s. i can’t believe how much they multiply. Foul…just foul.

  4. 4 Bets September 9, 2007 at 4:38 am

    For being a regular grocery store staple, albeit in the imported cheese section, Dublinger is one of my favorites.
    http://www.kerrygold.com/usa/dc.html

    I abhor cabbage and slaw and vinegar things of all varieties.
    I do like to take the bagged broccoli slaw stuff and mix it with La Martinique Blue Cheese Vinaigrette Dressing – so I guess that is slaw like and vinegary… oh well.

  5. 5 petitmuse September 9, 2007 at 7:26 am

    mmm, bleu cheese. never tried broccoli slaw though. don’t care for it raw; cauliflower, yes.

    sweetie, i hope you aren’t anywhere near this hurricane. you’ve had enough on your plate this week.

  6. 6 Doktor Holocaust September 9, 2007 at 9:02 pm

    i have an ongoing love affair with danish blue cheese. and for me, coleslaw must be sweet and also peppery. suprisingly, a store brand around here (Kroger Private Selection) tastes quite good, and I keep some in the fridge to go with my hot dogs (gotta get my reccomended daily allowance of preservatives and mystery meat somehow, after all)

  7. 7 Bets September 12, 2007 at 2:00 am

    Coleslaw aside,
    It is 32 degrees hotter here than where you are.
    I covet thy weather…

  8. 8 petitmuse September 12, 2007 at 7:42 am

    After spring, fall is my favorite. Cool, moist air. Breezes. I like the feel of change and transition in the air.

    Hang in there.


Leave a Reply

