Maestro

One of my fondest memories of the kiddo’s relative youth was the pleasure she took in watching The Three Tenors on dvd. She’d sit, swathed in blankets and just coo. As soon as Maestro took the stage , she’d break free from the blankets; waving  her arms and squealing in imitation.

Pavarotti and Carmen are about all I know of opera, except for a brief fling with voice lessons in the bel canto method. My teacher was a robust woman with red hair, an ample busom, and glasses that she’d painted herself with pink nailpolish. She liked to tease men in restauraunts at lunch by brushing crumbs  ever so daintily off her cleavage and giving her admirers a wink. But when she sang, she was full of command and all business.

She liked to take in people and try to make something of them, from the boarders in her cat filled house, to a singing postman by the name of Dennis who dreamed of becoming an opera star. She’d set her sights on pageants  for me, which mortified me to the core. The practice was demanding, and I lost interest after a few months and didn’t want to waste her time.  I’d like to say I learned something, but other than an appreciation of the intense control these singers have, about the only other thing I took with me was a stubborn acceptance of my own hushed voice. It’s my comfort zone.

Pavarotti was a revelation, in both voice and presence; pure love and warmth. Beautiful. So, Viva il Maestro.

6 Responses to “Maestro”


  1. 1 Doktor Holocaust September 7, 2007 at 6:06 am

    opera, hunh? wonder what that does to a Kiddo. when i was but a wee Hatchling Holocaust, i was provided with a steady intake of classic rock. Elvis. Beatles. Stones. Aerosmith. Herman’s Hermits. Beach Boys.

    and I grew up to listen to electroclash and goth-cabaret and occasionally squawk out some horrendous hellburps from a concertina.

  2. 2 petitmuse September 7, 2007 at 10:51 pm

    I wasn’t too surprised that she went for Pavarotti since her grandma is a huge opera fan. Whether this lasts or not, I don’t know. I do know that kiddo cannot stand Mama’s folksy-indie music. I still have faith that someday, she’ll think Joni Mitchell and Ani are as amazing as they really are.

  3. 3 Doktor Holocaust September 8, 2007 at 10:41 pm

    If i ever have nieces and nephews (i don’t think i could manage parenthood, but unclehood, I could handle for short periods of time) I feel sorry for them if they get into my music collection. They don’t need to hear Uncle Holocaust’s voluminous heap of mopey british stuff from the 80s, although I think a little bit of my dada-istic art-noise and kitschy folksy songs about alien abduction might do the little fledgeling disasters some good. the zombie sock-hop stuff should also be quite kid-friendly.

    of course, anyone tries having kids with my little sister for a few years yet, well, Mom and Dad have dibs on their not-long-for-this-world hide, but if i’m in town I get to torture them after. (she’s a teenager at present, and still under our parents’ roof)

  4. 4 petitmuse September 9, 2007 at 7:30 am

    Mopey 80’s stuff is classic….Echo and the Bunnymen, The Cure, and The Smiths of course. Your nieces/nephews would have to thank you.

    Somehow I see the kiddo being the future equivilant of a goth/death metal girl, if only to push the buttons on my issues. She just better wear good boots.

  5. 5 Doktor Holocaust September 11, 2007 at 4:20 am

    I can hear my sister now… “Bro? Why are my children hiding under blankets and insisting there’s no point to existence?”

    “Oh, they must’ve found my Joy Division albums”

    “and why does the littlest one have a knife?”

    “oops! that one got into the My Life With The Thrill Kill Kult. sorry, sis.”

    my elderly, disapproving relatives will of course want to caution Shorty Holocaust to keep her spawn away from me for fear of me, but the odds are they’ll be dead by then, so no worries.

  6. 6 Doktor Holocaust September 11, 2007 at 4:22 am

    I lost all my SMiths and Morrissey in a move. sometimes I’m grateful, sometimes I kick myself over it. still got all my Cure and Bunnymen and Siouxsie and Bauhaus and Joy Division and New Order, though, most of which is collecting dust as I haven’t the nerve to play it anymore, as it just hits me too hard.


Leave a Reply

