into the wild

I very much want to see this movie. Since childhood, before I’d even heard of Thoreau or read all of the books by Anne Labastille, I’ve wanted to do something like this.

2 Responses to “into the wild”


  1. 1 Bets September 5, 2007 at 3:57 am

    Did you read this book? I read it a year or so ago – and I recall being really frustrated by it. I had a bit of a love hate relationship with the guy – I think I left the book being disappointed by his selfishness.
    I’ll have to re-read it and see if I’m remembering my reaction accurately.
    And now it’s a movie… hummm.

  2. 2 petitmuse September 5, 2007 at 6:01 am

    I haven’t. And now I’ll probably wait until after I see the movie, so I’ll enjoy the book more. If I read it before the movie, I’ll end up feeling frustrated with the movie, which is usually inferior. But Sean Penn is directing it, and he’s not a compromising kind of guy, so maybe this will be more authentic.

    Anyhooo…I am fascinated by people who follow a pure vision or voice (their own or otherwise, ala Joan of Arc). Yes, they are sometimes frustrating, but noble in a way; pure spirits.


Leave a Reply

