hey

I’ve seen you peeps around on my dashboard. I’ve thought of you. I’ve missed you. I’m ok, I’ve just been….cranky….this week. Which is nothing much to blog about. I’m chalking it up to a sort of emotional detox from recent events. Which has reminded me of just why I don’t like breaking up relationships. But in the end, it’s all o.k.

So I’ve been spending my time painting with the kiddo, cooking, and cleaning. We clean in my family when we’re upset, or kind of in flux. Or when people die. Irish wakes are only for the men in our clan. We women bring out the mops, the rags, the solutions, and we get down on our knees and seek our comfort in cleanliness. Probably a leftover Catholic thing, which the kiddo may just escape. So far, she thinks cleaning is “ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww”. But she’s getting better at picking up her things.

On vacation, the minute dear mom set foot in camp, right in the middle of a heavy barbecue jam my brother and I were having, she just had to tear apart practically the entire kitchen and reorganize it while we skillfully danced around her and tried to find utensils for her in the unfamiliar kitchen. It was pretty crazy, with all the pots on the fire and the grill and all, but, bygones. I understand that there’s nothing like a good sweep and purge to set things to right, as I have been finding this week.

The kiddo has been in what I will call her “black period”. Mixing colors bores her, but give her some Mars Black fresh from the tube, and she’s rolling. She’s a damned good artist…heavy on the repitition and pattern, I must say. Herds of wildebeast, camel, and armies of robots all carrying huge ice cream cones with a stemmed cherry at the tippety top. She’s so sweet. I bought the wrong mayonnaise and made potato salad with it anyway. I thought it was pretty horrid, but she declared that I make the best potato salad in spite of.

I’m still rethinking my new living space and how I want it for the kiddo and I. Suddenly, I don’t feel like the classic neutrals that I’ve been living with, or the dark heavy furniture, either. I need warm, buttery colors, soft textures, clean lines, light, and uncomplicated arrangements. And to heck with formal anything; I’m thinking our place should be a sort of playroom/creative labratory/clubhouse. Oh, why not?

See ya later. Soon, I promise.

3 Responses to “hey”


  1. 1 Doktor Holocaust August 27, 2007 at 2:29 pm

    agreed. if a playroom/art-lab/clubhouse with some bedrooms and a kitchen is what ye want out of a home, then go for it! my own little Lab is a combination comic book store and horror movie screening facility with a bed somewhere in the clutter.

  2. 2 sigrid August 31, 2007 at 2:56 pm

    Hi Jemma, reading you in silence since a while, just wanted to tell you that… I’ve tagged you for blogday 🙂

  3. 3 petitmuse September 1, 2007 at 7:29 pm

    hi there! I’m so glad you came out and introduced yourself :> your photography on your blog is wonderful! thanks for the tag!


Leave a Reply

