stuff I’m not gonna do…

  1. stand in line for Harry Potter’s latest. But that’s easy, since I’ve never read any of ’em.
  2. drag my blog through the excruciating details of yet another move. Hence the relative quiet here…the kiddo and I are moving mid August!
  3. I won’t bring along my yummy black bean brownies on vacation (also in August) no matter how much anyone begs me. So there.
  4. I won’t go crazy at my latest tag sale this weekend. I won’t, I won’t, I won’t. Right.
  5. An’ I’m not giving up on my beloved Yankees either, no matter how quiet I’ve been on here about, in part because of the Sox’s rich tradition in the art of choking, and; because they are the Yankees and as I’ve said before, anything can happen.
13 Responses to “stuff I’m not gonna do…”


  1. 1 Doktor Holocaust July 21, 2007 at 6:15 am

    I’m with you on number one. if i am desperate enough to read something to go stand in a long line for it, my natural cunning will kick in and i’ll just pre-order it from some website whilst sitting comfortably in my cushy chair, virtually standing in line while remaining seated. I am currently doing this for two books as it is: Crooked Little Vein and Nextwave: I Kick Your Face (it’s about superheroes who used to work for a corporation that was a front for terrorists, they’ve rebelled against their former employers and are violent and funny and drunken and violent and funny all over again).

    Beans do not go in brownies. beans go in soups, stews, chili, burritoes, or even some kind of salads, but you have defiled all that is Brownie and wholesome.

  2. 2 petitmuse July 21, 2007 at 6:45 am

    “Beans do not go in brownies. beans go in soups, stews, chili, burritoes, or even some kind of salads, but you have defiled all that is Brownie and wholesome.”

    Now I feel subversive. Bad. I like it. Besides, how can a brownie be wholesome? Brownies are decadent. Brownies are sinfully delicious. There’s nothing wholesome about brownies.

    Yeah, I’m waiting for my library’s order for Nefertiti, by Michelle Moran. It’s a novel about the queen and all of the political and spiritual intrigues and manipulations. She’s more ambitious than I’d thought.

    The second book sounds interesting. I’m all for corporate anarchy and rebellion.

  3. 3 Doktor Holocaust July 22, 2007 at 6:43 am

    ooh, you will need to read Book 1, of course, which starts their little rebellion against corporate evils. I reccomend going through comicfusion.net, because they have been much nicer to me of late than amazon.com.

    part of the rebellious superhero crew is Aaron Stack, formerly known as Machine Man, a misanthropic boozehound android that likes it when bad things happen to other people and when beer happens to himself. he’s my hero.

    Brownies with beans are nowhere near wholesome. the bean-free kind, found in many kitchens, is VERY wholesome because they are chocolatey and warm and gooey and go down quite nicely with a glass of milk. They are the dessert equivalent of PB-and-J sammiches or macaroni and cheese. Serve someone warm brownies and, for a little while, they’re a kid again.

    Cheesecake is decadent. top-shelf dessert liqueurs are decadent (but mix nicely with cream soda!). leather couches are decadent. brownies… brownies feel like home. Anyone who’d fill them with beans and call them decadent is either Wolfgang Puck (i have friends who’ve met him – it’s apparently the alcoholism that makes his unusual pizza toppings seem like a good idea) or far more twisted, depraved, and misanthropically evil than even me.

    I salute you.

  4. 4 womanstuff July 23, 2007 at 1:25 am

    I perked right up when I saw that bit about brownies… black bean?? Never expected that to be an ingredient, but hey, they just might be amazing. And they have to be good for you too. Didn’t expect that either. I wouldn’t have to feel guilty lol…

  5. 5 petitmuse July 23, 2007 at 1:55 am

    You would never notice the presence of blackbeans if you didn’t know they were there. I add a 15 oz. can, rinsed and pureed to brownie mix, and skip the oil, water and egg. Bake as usual. They’re good, and the upped protein content makes me feel less guilty feeding them to my kiddo :>

  6. 6 Doktor Holocaust July 23, 2007 at 6:16 pm

    bean paste. you’re putting bean paste in your brownies and feeding them to unsuspecting children. that is sheer malice.

    the nutritional value of brownies isn’t meant to come from protein or any other isolatable chemical, as it’s purely psychological, and here you go sneaking something detestably healthy into the mix. what horrendous violation is next, I wonder? tofu in the ice cream? carob easter bunnies? vegan pizza?

  7. 7 Puppycup July 23, 2007 at 7:05 pm

    ROFL…Carob easter bunnies–unfortunately for Kiddo you may have just given her an idea 😉 You all make me giggle.

  8. 8 petitmuse July 23, 2007 at 10:14 pm

    keep giving my ideas!

    as long as the kiddo prefers the blackbean over traditional brownies, i’m all too happy to help her out. this must be her happy place.

  9. 9 Doktor Holocaust July 24, 2007 at 6:23 pm

    has the Kiddo had a chance to sample the beanless, conventional brownies? if so, and she clearly likes them bean-in, then I suspect the beans are just that secret ingredient that make Mom’s brownies taste so much better than any other brownies anywhere (i think Ma Holocaust used coffee of some kind, as we’re a caffeine-intensive family), effectively preserving the sanctity of childhood brownie-memories even if the ingredients are a bit creepy.

  10. 10 Betty Lou July 24, 2007 at 7:40 pm

    I volunteer to make some beanless brownies for la petite. (I’ve been told I make a mean brownie.) xoxo

  11. 11 petitmuse July 25, 2007 at 12:31 am

    why thank you, sweetie :> you know, i’ve made all sorts of brownies, always searching for the ultimate recipe. and she’s pretty much indifferent to anything but the bean brownies. true! heh.

  12. 12 petitmuse July 26, 2007 at 2:32 am

    dok:

    I made blondies today. With ground flaxseed in them. The kiddo loved them. They were filthy sinfully good.

    I snagged an ice cream maker recently. For uh, frozen yogurt and homemade pumpkin ice cream. Yummy.

  13. 13 Doktor Holocaust July 26, 2007 at 7:18 am

    Blondies are a mutation anyway, so just about anything can go into those. as for icecream… icecream is a different standard., I think, as exotic/unusual flavors are what make it so special and memorable, or first encounters with common flavors, like the first time I had Cookiedough Icecream with real cookiedough in it when I was playing miniature golf with relatves. they refused to believe that real cookiedough was in there, as they think eating raw cookiedough is hazardous. I loved it, though, and still do.


Leave a Reply

