little minds…

 

“Mama….mama…hey, look what happened to my squirrel! Look, come see! He DIED! He’s dead, mama. what are we going to do?!!?!!?

pause.

Here, I think you should EAT him!!!!”

This is the scene at least 20 times a day, every day for the past two weeks. Is this an existential crisis? Should I be calling the psychs in?

6 Responses to “little minds…”


  1. 1 Puppycup July 10, 2007 at 10:58 pm

    LOLOLOLOLOLOL

    Kisses @ u and Em =)

  2. 2 petitmuse July 10, 2007 at 11:43 pm

    I made no-bake cookies and thought of you today :>

  3. 3 Doktor Holocaust July 11, 2007 at 6:57 am

    I don’t think kids have existential crises. They have attempts to figure out how this big scary land of giants that run everything they were born into works, in case they ever become one of these nonsensical “Grown-Ups” themselves.

    And they learn early on that they can alter the behavior of any nearby grown-ups, and delight in doing so. It gives them a feeling of power over a large and chaotic world run by irrational giants. I think Kiddo is playing Dead Squirrel because she likes your response.

    or she is, perhaps, training herself to become a chronicles-of-Riddick Necromonger. “You keep what you kill. Do you need ketchup with that?”

  4. 4 Puppycup July 12, 2007 at 8:22 pm

    I agree with Doktor–I think the Kiddo definately likes to get reactions out of people =)

    And to Doktor, I find your commentary on this blog wildly amusing =) I find myself looking at people in my office and wondering if you could be among them –and at the very least I’m kind to people purchasing frappachinos =)

  5. 5 petitmuse July 13, 2007 at 12:43 am

    kiddo definitely likes reactions. She’s so funny. Today, she took one of my larger Rubbermaid bowls, stuck a foam flower sticker on it, placed it upside down on her head, and pronounced herself as Sandy from Spongebob.

    Second Puppycup on the comments. Mmm, hamburg.

  6. 6 Doktor Holocaust July 13, 2007 at 2:48 pm

    she watched Spongebob? gaaah. maybe there’s something about it that only the very young can appreciate, but the episodes I sat through seemed like Ren & Stimpy with all the comedy removed. o’course, Ren and Stimpy had the kind of intense weird humor that got the creator, John Kricfalusi, fired from his own show, so I imagine Nickelodeon is much stricter about letting people like that in the door these days, and much shorter on talent because of it. all the good writers are with Cartoon Network nowadays, anyway.

    of course, don’t be surprised if, in the future, when faced with a dead pet, Kiddo asks if she can eat them. She may not be serious, and only asking to get a reaction, but I suspect she’ll ask (I’m the kind of person who does weird things for a reaction, as she seems to be).


Leave a Reply

