baking…

I just got done baking a nice batch of chocolate chip cookies. Sans beans of any kind. As soon as the ingredients were mixed, I remembered the recipe available over at one my favorite blogs, the fabulous Bake and Shake. Next time.

I don’t know why, but unless it’s bread, I’m not really interested in eating the finished product any time soon after I’m done baking. Bread straight out of the oven with butter is heaven on a plate. Anything else and I feel too…involved…like I need space, give or take a day or two, before partaking. Luckily the kiddo has no such problem.

We’ve also been baking our own Syrian bread (pita, or pocket bread…my grandpa always called it Syrian bread). He taught me how to make these, when I was supposed to be practicing guitar. They are ridiculously easy to make. The kiddo and I are amused every. single. time. at the sight of the breads puffing up and out like balloons as they bake in the very hot oven. Anyway, try this and you won’t want to buy Syrian bread again. Ever. I use the recipe in the Frugal Gourmet with a bit of olive oil brushed on top before they go in the oven. Of course, it should be against the law to buy the accompanying hummus, which is also ridiculously easy to make. Though the moms at the playground do. Eh.

And, lastly, is it me, or do sandwiches always, always taste much better when other people besides yourself make them?

9 Responses to “baking…”


  1. 1 teeni July 5, 2007 at 5:40 am

    Sandwiches ALWAYS taste better when someone else makes them for you! I’m so glad I’m not the only one who thinks that. I just caught your blog through the tag surfer and that line caught my eye. Anyway, that is the reason whenever I want to cheer one of my sisters up or if they need some kind of comfort, I make them a chicken or turkey sandwich like mom used to make. Now I’m becoming more of a vegetarian though so I’ll have to make a new kind of sandwich for them. LOL

  2. 2 Betty Lou July 5, 2007 at 6:44 pm

    Shoot me the bread recipe? (and a real e-mail with real updates on you and the girl, ok? xox

  3. 3 petitmuse July 5, 2007 at 7:24 pm

    teeni: grilled vegetables with cheese are awesome on sandwiches…especially with a little melted provolone or feta cheese. yum.

    I love making breakfast in particular for people I care about. I really view cooking as an act of love.

  4. 4 teeni July 5, 2007 at 9:27 pm

    Good idea for the veggie sandwiches. Thank you for that! You are right – cooking IS an act of love. Must be why there are so many types of comfort food. 😉

  5. 5 Doktor Holocaust July 8, 2007 at 11:24 pm

    I don’t actually bake things, although I suppose I should. i just don’t have the patience or the desire to clean up that much kitchen-mess, and since I don’t own any baking-equipment (it wasn’t that long ago I got my own apartment, after all) I’d have to buy baking-gear along with ingredients, making it all too much work for me to bother with.

    but I want brownies now, blast it. And sandwiches taste better when other people make them for two reasons 1) you don’t have to deal with the mess and 2) it’s a bit more suprising, to see how someone else spreads the mayonnaise or slices the tomatoes or whatnot.

  6. 6 petitmuse July 9, 2007 at 1:26 am

    I am a very messy sandwich maker. you are right about how other people make sandwiches…always interesting. Unless there’s Miracle Whip involved. Ewwwwwwwwwwwwww.

  7. 7 Doktor Holocaust July 9, 2007 at 3:24 pm

    i never quite understood the difference between Miracle Whip and mayo. I shall have to research this now.

  8. 8 Betty Lou July 10, 2007 at 11:01 pm

    D.H.
    Mayo is good. Miracle Whip is discusting. Very simple difference. Plus Miracle Whip has sugar in it. Gross.

  9. 9 Doktor Holocaust July 11, 2007 at 7:06 am

    I like the taste of both, depending on what it’s being served with. Miracle Whip, according to Kraft Product Info, is…

    water, soybean oil, vinegar, high fructose corn syrup, sugar, modified food starch, egg yolks, salt, mustard flour, artificial color, potassium sorbate as a preservative, spice, paprika, natural flavor, dried garlic

    There it is again. Soybeans and corn syrup. they’re trying to slip cattle-feed into EVERYTHING these days, like someone somewhere is getting ready to make hamburgers out of everyone.


Leave a Reply

