1. The Misanthropic: Name something (about humanity) that you absolutely hate.

Greed, which seeds all kinds of crimes against humanity; large and small, and bad karma.  With so many resources and abundance in this world, I don’t understand why some feel they have to have more, or all of whatever at the expense of others. Learn to share, people.

2. The Meritricious: Expose someone or something that’s phony, fraudulent, or bogus.

The closest thing I can think of right now to anything remotely such is Mr. McEnroe’s faux French accent on his radio show while introducing the sports talk. Though this hardly renders him as fraudulent, phony, or bogus. Just amusing.

3. The Malcontent: Name something you’re unhappy with.

At this time of the year, it’s always the heat.

4. The Meritorious: Give someone credit for something and name it if you can.

My late sister; beautiful, queenly, girly in every way, saved thousands of acres of land for the wildlife of Virginia, New England and beyond working as a real estate liaison for the government. Thank you, Paula.

5. The Mirror: See something good about yourself and name it.

I really don’t care for commenting upon my appearance, but if my arm were twisted, I’d say I like my lips the most, though come to think of it, I could use some new shades of color for them.

6. The Make-Believe: Name something you wish for.

My sisters and I are dreaming up “our retirement home”, a haven we’re designing in our heads and in conversation, which so far is something a bit cottage-y and in some shade of yellow. With a screened porch. T and Pentyne seem to think it’s in….Georgia. The HEAT, ladies! Gah! I think I have Pentyne on board with the composting and gardening thing though. But she’s not too crazy about the llamas and chickens. Yet.

6 Responses to “”


  1. 1 Puppycup June 28, 2007 at 9:00 pm

    http://slog.thestranger.com/2007/06/why_we_should_ban_plastic_bags

    Talk about depressing…I get more and more on board with the idea of composting and gardening everyday. I’ve even taken to canvas bags at the grocery store which I have to say serves me two-fold. Less plastic and I buy less becasue who wants to march in to the grocery store with 10 canvas bags?

    Anyway–Glad you’re back =)

  2. 2 petitmuse June 28, 2007 at 10:02 pm

    isn’t depressing? There’s an image somewhere of a turtle with his shell cinched in the middle because when he was younger, a plastic ring had gotten stuck, and his body grew around it.
    I haven’t gotten bags yet, but I get paper because it’s recyclable and it’s what we’re supposed to put all of the recyclable papers in.

    if you come across it, you should read Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, by Barbara Kingsolver….excellent read about the politics of food and the origins of the food industry, as well as good stuff about farm life and healthy living.

    Just teasing about the south thing…I’d live in an igloo if I had to with all of you. :>

  3. 3 Doktor Holocaust June 29, 2007 at 2:34 pm

    i think at least part of the motivation behind greed is pure misanthropy, wanting to have More or All at least partly to prevent Someone Else from getting any. in older, less Science-powered eras when All still wasn’t much because there was no mass-production, it was easier, and got sort of engrained in the ruling class as What They’re Supposed To Do With All That Extra Money, and they fed stories to their kids about it fueling the economy and whatnot.

    Generations later, those stories stuck, and this quaint old habit became a terrifying obsession. Of course, it could possibly get traced back earlier to pre-agricultural times, when there was very little of anything because it took all day schlepping through the predator-filled wilderness to get Any, let alone Enough, some some smartalec figured that stealing his hunter-gatherer neighbor’s food was easier than going out and hunter-gathering his own.

    and then there were my ancient ancestors, sitting in the cool caves making stone axes because they didn’t want to run around picking berries andchasing rabbits, and then trading these for food. did we incite arms-races? probably. did we care? No, because our caves were a safe distance away.

  4. 4 Betty Lou July 3, 2007 at 1:08 am

    ohohoh… I just saw that the book was out on Sunday. I heard B.K. speak at Duke Chapel, it was awesome.

    in regards to the retirement estate, which I think should be named Happydale in homage to “Arsenic and Old Lace”:
    In addition to the screened in porch, you must have a sleeping porch on the 2nd floor. Oh, and an outdoor shower. I would like to propose a location somewhere in the Carolina’s… there are 4 seasons, still a sharp bite to the wind in the winter, the ocean, the mountains and lots of good eats. The tomato season starts in early June, as does the corn on the cob and in Raleigh there is a farmer’s market that is open 364 days a year, 7 days a week and it has 225,000 square feet of covered vendor space. It’s divine.

  5. 5 petitmuse July 3, 2007 at 1:25 am

    I’ve never read a B.K. book, this was my first. I thought her tone was a tad self righteous at times, but she knew her stuff and has some good ideas, buying local being one of them. Gotta love farmer’s markets.


  1. 1 touching, isn’t it? « petites méditations Trackback on July 30, 2008 at 11:51 pm

Leave a Reply

