odd…

Well, kind of. Yesterday I was prowling around in the hardware store for seeds and s-hooks when the kiddo got the notion to visit Mama Tree and Baby Tree. I had no idea that she remembered that the hardware store is where they come from. We found them, all snazzy with their lucite handles and blue and red bottoms. But she looked all sad at me and said “But these are not toys”. I didn’t know what to say. When we got home, she was over it and sought out the pair and put them in their special spot. She likes to decorate toilet paper tubes and dress the “trees” up.

We then went to the little thrift shop around the corner, where she spied a big honking yellow dump truck and of course wanted it. I had to get it for her…my dad was a truck driver with a big white truck, so this melted my heart. I wish she could have met him, he would have adored his grandchildren. He liked girls with spunk, a quality this kid has in abundance. He probably would have given her a special call from this character he invented by the name of “Pierre”, who had a thick accent and would leave candy bars on the counter for my then four year old sister Pentyne. I still don’t know how he called my sister from the phone line in the house and got the extension to ring, but he would call from the bedroom upstairs and chat with Pentyne in his faux accent. He’d just chat with her about her day, remind her to mind her Mommy, and Pentyne would giggle on the other end. Then my father would relentlessly tease Pentyne about her “French boyfriend” for days, which would elicit more giggles and blushes.

We had immunizations for the kiddo last week. Joy. But afterward we found our ice cream parlor and enjoyed the weather outside. Babci kept commenting on the fact that St. ___’s school is right near by. Four times. Four times. Ack! I’ve always envisioned a private school education for the kiddo, but parochial school is not quite what I had in mind. I haven’t touched upon religion with the kiddo, but I’ve saved this Tibetan story book for the time when she questions me about death, and I can take it out for her and read to her the story of a little old Buddhist man who lives in the mountains of Tibet and explain the concept of reincarnation. I don’t need her growing up with the torment of hell and original sin, nuh-uh. Actually, in the best case scenario, she would go to a Waldorf school. I visited one in Sweden, and was so impressed…the kids were so engaged in what they were doing and with each other. Waldorf focuses more on the child and its experiences as teachers, with an emphasis on creativity. But the nearest school is many, many miles away.

Lastly, I wanted to pass along another cooking blog I found. Heidi Swanson’s 101 Cookbooks is packed with awesome, good-for-you food, with an emphasis on organic ingredients. There are also lots of vegetarian recipes. Enjoy.

2 Responses to “odd…”


  1. 1 Doktor Holocaust April 10, 2007 at 8:10 am

    I’m with you on not burdening a kid with the weight of an opressive dogma based on guilt, especially considering that young brain-meat isn’t quite ready for the complexities of religious thought yet, as there is still much learning to do just to get to be a functional adult without worrying about space-monsters that dole out rewards and punishments based on adherence to some arbitrary list of rules. Childhood is about kids learning to become functional adults, whereas religion (for me, anyway) is about adults trying to recapture some of the wonder and magic of seeing the world through new eyes, like a kid does.

    I count myself lucky that Ma and Pa Holocaust raised me without any religion, as it left me free to explore the whole cornucopia of spiritual thought for myself when I was ready without thinking any particular church was more right than any other

  2. 2 petitmuse April 11, 2007 at 12:37 am

    yeah, i can’t get into “this is the right way”…i think in the end, it matters little. spirituality from person to person is as individual as thumbprints.

    i’d like her to explore religion with a mature but open mind. there is certainly enough to learn at her age, yes.

    thanks.


Leave a Reply

