let’s go to the movies

stolen from dok holocaust:

1. Name a movie that you have seen more than 10 times.
Edward Scissorhands, The Big Lebowski, Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Reality Bites (thanks, Felix), Wings of Desire, Bonnie and Clyde, The Philadelphia Story.
2. Name a movie that you’ve seen multiple times in the theater.
the last time I did that was over ten years ago….things like Pretty Woman (gulp!), Purple Rain, Desperately Seeking Susan, Flashdance, Edward Scissorhands.
3. Name an actor that would make you more inclined to see a movie.

Gael Garcia Bernal
4. Name an actor that would make you less likely to see a movie.
Stephen Segall.
5. Name a movie that you can and do quote from.
Breakfast At Tiffany’s: “there are certain shades of limelight that can wreck a girl’s complexion”, “I could be knitting a ranch house!”, “quelle night”, “it should take you exactly four seconds to cross from here to that door. I’ll give you two.” So many others. I could probably quote along to it entirely if I tried.
6. Name a movie musical that you know all of the lyrics to all of the songs.
I don’t care for musicals.
7. Name a movie that you have been known to sing along with.
I seriously don’t think there are any.
8. Name a movie that you would recommend everyone see.
It’s kind of esoteric and has subtitles, but I recommend “Wings of Desire” to everyone I love. It makes one thrilled to be alive with all of its little details and its luminosity. On the other end of the spectrum, Kill Bill 2 is a movie every female should see. It’s empowering and very female from someone you wouldn’t expect to go that route.
9. Name a movie that you own.
A Very Long Engagement.
10. Name an actor that launched his/her entertainment career in another medium but who has surprised you with his/her acting chops.
At the time, Prince surprised me in Purple Rain. I was so young.
11. Have you ever seen a movie in a drive-in? If so, what?
When I was very young, I hung out in the back seat of the car on the floor with Mrs. Beasley while my parents watched The Towering Inferno.
12. Ever made out in a movie?
not really.
13. Name a movie that you keep meaning to see but just haven’t yet gotten around to it.
Ikiru.
14. Ever walked out of a movie?
Shanghai Surprise.
15. Name a movie that made you cry in the theater.
In The English Patient, when she writes that she always wanted to walk with him in the Palace of the Winds, I cried. And I still do.
16. Popcorn?
sure.
17. How often do you go to the movies?
I haven’t gone in a long time.
18. What’s the last movie you saw in the theater?
oh, I can’t remember.
19. What’s your favorite/preferred genre of movie?
Art house/foreign.
20. What’s the first movie you remember seeing in the theater?
Gandhi, though I’m sure I saw others before. We snuck flasks into the theatre (Christ, who drinks through Gandhi?!!). My friend Bonita giggled inappropriately when Gandhi got shot at something totally unrelated and drew attention to us. And that is why I remember this particular movie.
21. What movie do you wish you had never seen?
Recently, Babel. I want those two hours back.
22. What is the weirdest movie you enjoyed?
probably Blue Velvet.
23. What is the scariest movie you’ve seen?
I couldn’t sleep for days after watching The Silence of the Lambs on its opening day.
24. What is the funniest movie you’ve seen?
I still laugh at The Big Lebowski.

4 Responses to “let’s go to the movies”


  1. 1 Doktor Holocaust April 2, 2007 at 3:00 pm

    it is in accordance with the prophetic words from the end of the film: “The Dude abides.” It seems like The Big Lebowski has won many a heart, and knowing this makes me smile.

  2. 3 Doktor Holocaust April 3, 2007 at 6:32 pm

    Edward scissorhands is another of my faves. It rarely gets mentioned because I have to be in just the right frame of mind to sit down and watch that sort of fairytale romance. When I’m in the mood for it, it is uplifting and inspiring and I feel good for days after. when I’m not, even ten minutes of it will leave me cranky.

    Much like Addams Family Values and “Benny and Joon,” it’s a movie that has strong associations with memories I don’t necessarily want rubbed in my face when I’m in a comfy couch-potato sort of mood.

    But the Dude… “The Big Lebowski” was a part of the same past, the same events, yet somehow the Dude not only abides but transcends being mired in the same miasmal memories. Maybe because it’s about bowling.

  3. 4 petitmuse April 3, 2007 at 9:55 pm

    the dialogues in the bowling alley scenes are one of the best parts.


Leave a Reply

