little things, little things…

So I made up a soup today with a chicken broth, lots of vegetables, noodles, a little sage, splash of coconut milk, and heavy on the bay leaves. The kiddo’s been smacking it up, exclaiming “begetables, mmm, begetables…”. I was feeding her some out of a cup (she seems to eat more if I finish her up by feeding her myself at the end). I take a small sip myself between spoonfuls and she furrows her brow and looks at me and says “what do you think you’re DOING??? That’s MY soup. Don’t eat my soup!”.

We live in a sharply nutritionally divided household. The kiddo is only too happy to glide on over to the dark side and feast on the hot dogs and spaghettios there. So I’m thrilled beyond measure when she finds something she likes over on my side.

6 Responses to “little things, little things…”


  1. 1 doktorholocaust March 17, 2007 at 8:34 am

    hey, don’t knock the frankfurters. Yes, they are chock-full of chemicals and nameless parts of animals unknown to all but the most erudite of cryptozoologists, but growing kids need that as much as they need wholesome vegetables, fruits, meats, and baked goods. How else are they going to build a tolerance to the constant barrage of toxins the world will throw at them at every opportunity? How else will they breathe in the car-exhaust-filled air of rush-hour traffic without needing an inhaler or a gasmask? How else will they survive getting fast food with their friends after school without throwing up? How else will they surive the impending nuclear holocaust that is sure to happen now that even second- and third-world countries can get cheap nukes if they don’t get to eat some microwaved preservatives from time to time?

    In the words of the holy man Brother Cleve “Donut” Dunkan, “If they told you how radioactive you REALLY are, they wouldn’t be able to scare you with horror stories of Russians and bombs and all that other horseshit. If they told you that after the bomb falls you’ll feel the same way you do now, there’ll just be a little less of you, then you wouldn’t be so consumed with trying to play their idiotic games”

    Brother Cleve is, like myself, a firm believer that these substances the Nutritional Establishment would have you believe are toxic are really the keys to transcending human limitations, the keys to triggering our own mutation and evolution. Don’t you want Kiddo to have superpowers?

  2. 2 petitmuse March 18, 2007 at 4:27 am

    I let her partake every once in a while…it’s kind of like immunization, just give her a taste and let her build up her resistance. Actually, I should just let her eat all of the processed food she wants, the way I was raised…then she’ll grow up to be like moi and appreciate home cooked, natural food. She doesn’t know how good she has it!

    Her father was raised on granola and garden food and he rebelled by eating chef boyardee once he got out of the house, in spite of my good efforts.

    I’ll settle for a hybrid of her parents though.

  3. 3 Doktor Holocaust March 19, 2007 at 2:54 pm

    The only granola I ever saw, until I had a nutritionist as a landlady much later in life, was in bar form, primarily consisted of rice-krispy-treat, and was coated in chocolate. I had heard that it was once a sort of hippie breakfast food, but I’d also heard that there were once giant hairy elephant-ish creatures roaming the land, and i figured both were fossils or trapped in glaciers or something.

  4. 4 petitmuse March 19, 2007 at 7:18 pm

    you didn’t feel deprived? ever? i always knew there was something better for me than instant cup-a-soup and turkey baloney. my father used to write my mother loving and sweet notes requesting roast or at least a stew that he’d leave on the kitchen counter before leaving for work.

  5. 5 Doktor Holocaust March 21, 2007 at 6:10 am

    No. I had a lot of italian relatives, so i was stuffed with pasta, meatballs, more pasta, and lots of frozen goodies from Schwanns. then as I got older and we moved away from mom’s kin, dad took over the cooking and it was Dad’s Throwtogether, which consists of noodles, bags of frozen veggies, some kinda meat, and an asian/mexican fusion sauce. i was crammed full of starched and steaming hunks of roasted dead animal, so I really didn’t think i was missing anything by there not being non-bar granola in the house.

  6. 6 petitmuse March 22, 2007 at 8:42 pm

    I was very fortunate too, to have a wonderful artist grandfather who was concocted creative and healthy pasta combo’s, pizzas, soups, and cookies. He made the most awesome spicy pickled caulifower, just for me. I don’t know what I would have done without that.


Leave a Reply

