thaw

Yes, it’s thawing here, after a week of bitter cold. So sunny out. I took the kiddo for a walk and was patting myself mentally on the back for being cool with her jumping in mud puddles, when suddenly she flops down on all fours in the middle of a huge puddle and announces, “I’m a puppy!”. Soaked from top to bottom, but I was successful in convincing her not to drink from the puddle as other authentic puppies do.

She’s very much into music now. What she likes to do is select a rhythm from her keyboard, then jam along to it on a makeshift drum, then go to the toy guitar at a certain point. I just realized that guitar is almost thirty years old. It was my first one, now it’s hers. Wow. Once in awhile I catch myself wondering what’s going to stick. She likes to pretend to be this and that, usually an animal, and will often tap me and ask, “what am I?” and make me guess. I’ve been asking that since she was born. Who are you? What do you want to be? As long as she becomes a person she likes and respects, I’m cool with it. But I’m thinking she maybe needs to stay out of those mud puddles from now on.

5 Responses to “thaw”


  1. 1 T March 12, 2007 at 2:01 am

    About four summers ago the girls and I were melting in the heat and trekked off to the city pools for a thorough cooling. We decided to have an ice cream as we were leaving. I took a lot longer to eat mine than they did, and they began to stomp in some of the puddles left from the lawn sprinklers. Some of the puddles were quite deep and before I knew it Mei and Ceecy were laying in the puddles making “water angels” while Rae was rolling around, following their lead. A photographer from the local paper had come along to do a story on how people were beating the heat and became fascinated as my children, totally unaware of her, continued to frolic. Mei made that paper that night, much to our delight. It is one of my fondest memories of a summer day.

  2. 2 doktorholocaust March 12, 2007 at 4:11 am

    i still pretend to be an animal, but I do it with all the stealth of a sneaky little kid up to no good.

    Like today at the laundromat. clothes were washing and i was ready to sit down and wait for them to finish, so I picked the warmest, sunniest spot by the window, settled myself conmfortably, and went into one of those wonderful sleepy-contemplative trances where i definitely could have purred if someone came along and rubbed my tummy. I was playing Cat, a game I learned from actual cats, which goes very well with sitting and reading.

    I don’t have any cats now, as my current lifestyle is not pet-friendly, but I take the lessons learned from my feline friends with me wherever I go.

  3. 3 petitmuse March 12, 2007 at 4:33 am

    cats are extremely smart creatures. really, they have it all figured out…sleep, eat, sleep, eat…and find some amusing human to “own” who will do your bidding.

  4. 4 Puppycup March 12, 2007 at 7:12 pm

    What a funny girl–those are the moments you wish you had a camera with you eh? I agree about the cats–I used to hope that in my next life I would wind up being a big furry beautiful cat–much like Dexter, who is completely huge but so comfortable with himself, and his fur shines so brightly silver it’s intoxicating. If I could have that comfortable life where I’m doted on but have the freedom to do as I please–and where fat & furry is ideal and even fawned over…I think thats got to be nirvana.

    Though Dexter must have some past rights to wrong as the puppy we have now has upset his perfect existance with somewhat of a vengeance.
    Wonder if they knew each other in a past life?

  5. 5 petitmuse March 12, 2007 at 9:58 pm

    i would guess that they had some unsettled business, yes. Dex/Finn is one gorgeous, devine cat. he looks good no matter what and has personality to spare…never met a cat who didn’t look good in any pose…except perhaps when they come out of a bath. i wouldn’t mind being a cat. but a seal would be pretty cool too.


Leave a Reply

